Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline


Friday November 30, 2012Seven Gators Named to SEC Pigskin Picks All-Conference Team

Gainesville, Fla.

Seven Gators have been named to the SEC Pigskins Picks All-Conference team, announced this week on the SEC Pigskin Picks Live from Catfish County radio show.


Senior running back Mike Gillislee (DeLand, Fla.) and senior offensive lineman Xavier Nixon (Fayetteville, N.C.) highlight the offense selections.  Gillislee had a breakout season for the Gators, as he has rushed for 1,104 yards this season and leads the team with 11 touchdowns.  Nixon represents the offensive line, starting and playing in 10 games this season.


Florida ties Georgia with the most selections on defense with three including junior defensive lineman Sharrif Floyd (Philadelphia, Pa.), junior defensive back Jaylen Watkins (Cape Coral) and junior defensive back Matt Elam (Palm Beach Gardens).  Elam currently leads the Orange and Blue with four interceptions on the season and is second in tackles with 65.  Watkins has 31 tackles, three interceptions, and eight pass breakups on the season while Floyd has recorded 41 tackles including a team high 11 TFL. 


The Orange and Blue also took two of three specialist honors as sophomore punter Kyle Christy (Brownsburg, Ind.) and senior kicker Caleb Sturgis (St. Augustine) won for their respective positions.  Christy has led the SEC this season in punting with a 46.1 punt average on 62 punts for 2858 yards this season. Sturgis has etched his name in to the UF record books as he set the mark for the most career field goals made with 69 this season.  He became the third Gator in school history to record 300 points in his career and leads the Gators in scoring with 101 points. 


Christy is one of three finalists for the Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s best punter, and Sturgis is one of three candidates for the Lou Groza Award for the second-consecutive year.  


SEC Pigskin Picks 2012 All-Conference Team


QB, Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M

RB, Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB, Mike Gillislee, Florida

WR, Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

WR, Justin Hunter, Tennessee

TE, Mychal Rivera, Tennessee

C, Barrett Jones, Alabama

OL, Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL, Chris Burnette, Georgia

OL, D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL, Xavier Nixon, Florida



DL, Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

DL, Sam Montgomery, LSU

DL, Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL, Sharrif Floyd, Florida

LB, AJ Johnson, Tennessee

LB, Kevin Minter, LSU

LB, Jarvis Jones, Georgia

DB, Bacarri Rambo, Georgia

DB, Jaylen Watkins, Florida

DB, Matt Elam, Florida

DB, Dee Milliner, Alabama



KR/PR, Cordarelle Patterson, Tennessee

P, Kyle Christy, Florida

K, Caleb Sturgis, Florida


Slobber Knocker Player of the Year

Johnny Manziel


Coach of the Year

Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.