Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline


Monday November 5, 2012Sturgis Named Lou Groza Award Semifinalist

Gainesville, Fla.

University of Florida redshirt senior kicker Caleb Sturgis (St. Augustine) has been named a semifinalist for the Lou Groza Award, announced by the Palm Beach Sports Commission on Monday.


Sturgis was a finalist for the award last season, a semifinalist in 2009 and highlights the list of 20 semifinalist this season.  He is one of two finalists from last season to appear on this year’s list.


For the Orange and Blue this season, Sturgis leads the Gators in scoring with 68 points overall.  He is 15-for-18 in field goals and 23-for-24 in point after attempts.  He connected on 51-yard field goals to start the 2012 season and is 3-for-3 in 50-plus yard field goal attempts.


Nationally this season, Sturgis is tied for eighth in the nation in field goals (1.67) and is fourth in the SEC in kick scoring and fifth in overall scoring.  He also leads the league in field goals with 15 this season. 


In his career, Sturgis has eight 50-plus yard field goals which ties him for the lead amongst active players in the nation.  Sturgis is 61-for-75 (81.3%) in field goals and 119-for-125 (95.2%) in point after attempts.  The St. Augustine, Fla. native became just the third Gator in school history to record 300 points in his career behind kicker Jeff Chandler (362) and quarterback Tim Tebow (348).  He is currently second all-time in UF history in field goals attempted and field goals made. He is just six field goals shy of tying Chandler’s record for field goals made. 


In addition, Sturgis is on pace to finish top-10 in SEC history in FG made and FG attempted and top 20 in SEC history in scoring.


Semifinalists will be voted on by FBS Head Coaches and SIDs, along with national and regional football writers, and past Groza winners to select the three finalists. These finalists will be announced on November 19th and honored at the 21st annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 4th in West Palm Beach, Florida. The winner will be announced live on the Home Depot ESPN College Football Awards Show on Thursday, December 6th.


2012 Lou Groza Semifinalist



Brett Baer


Casey Barth

North Carolina

Chris Boswell


Jeff Budzien


Anthony Cantele

Kansas State

Chandler Catanzaro


Brian Davis

Arkansas State

Trey Farquhar


Brendan Gibbons


Dustin Hopkins

Florida State

Michael Hunnicutt


Austin Lopez

San Jose State

Jaden Oberkrom


Cairo Santos


Steven Schott

Ball State

Quinn Sharp

Oklahoma State

Jeremy Shelley


Caleb Sturgis



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.