Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Soccer Headline

No. 10 Florida faces Missouri in SEC Tournament semifinal play on Friday.

Thursday November 1, 2012No. 10 Florida faces Missouri in SEC Soccer Tournament semifinal action Friday


No. 10 Florida faces Missouri in SEC Tournament semifinal play on Friday.

The No. 10 University of Florida soccer team (15-4-1, 11-2 SEC) faces Missouri (14-6, 8-5 SEC) in Friday’s second semifinal match of the Southeastern Conference Tournament. Match time is set for 7:30 p.m. ET at the Orange Beach Sportsplex and can be seen live on ESPN3.

Friday’s Match Information:

No. 10 Florida (15-4-1, 11-2 SEC) versus RV Missouri (14-6, 8-5 SEC)


Date & Time: Nov. 2, 2012 @ 7:30 p.m. ET
Site: Orange Beach Sportsplex (1,500)
The Coaches: Becky Burleigh, 18th season @ UF (397-107-33/23rd season overall – 315-84-27/UF), Bryan Blitz (211-177-23/21st season overall and 166-133-15/16th season at MU)

Television: none

Radio: ESPN 850/900

Streaming video: ESPN3

Internet: live stats and audio for UF-MU match available on

Admission:  $5 for adults and $2 for youth – contact the Orange Beach SportsPlex at 251-981-6039 for more information

Florida is the tournament’s top seed after winning the program’s 12th league title with an 11-2 record. Missouri is the tournament’s No. 5 seed after posting an 8-5 record in its first season of SEC play.

Florida’s season goals and points leaders each scored to give the Gators a 2-1 win over Mississippi in SEC Tournament play on Wednesday. Senior Jo Dragotta put in the end line cross from Tessa Andujar in the 12th minute to give UF a 1-0 halftime lead. The Rebels’ Erin Emerson knotted the score in the 81st minute off a corner kick. Florida took three shots after the UM goal, but the decisive goal was set up when junior Taylor Travis was fouled just above the 18-yard box. Senior All-American Erika Tymrak, the 2012 SEC Offensive Player of the Year, put in the 19-yard free kick to give UF the final margin.

Dragotta leads the Gators in 2012 with seven goals and Tymrak tops the Gators’ points chart with 19. Dragotta now owns seven career goals – all scored this season and within the span of the last 11 matches. Tymrak’s 93 points place her sixth on Florida’s career chart with fellow senior McKenzie Barney in eighth at 72. Tymrak also moved into a tie for eighth on Florida’s career goals chart at 29.

Missouri lost its final three matches of the SEC season – 2-1 versus Arkansas, 3-1 versus LSU and 2-1 OT at Texas A&M. The Tigers advanced to the semifinal in their first SEC Tournament appearance by a 2-1 score over Kentucky. The Tigers used first half goals by Haley Krentz and Alyssa Diggs – scored within a two-minute span – to take a 2-0 halftime lead. UK cut the lead with a 73rd minute goal but the Tigers prevailed with the same score posted in the two team’s regular-season meeting. Diggs leads MU with eight goals and 17 points while Taiwo Adeshigbin and Abi Raymer share second with seven goals and 16 points each. Diggs and midfielder Dominique Richardson were named to the 2012 All-SEC first team and Allison Hu shared the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor.

When these two teams met in 2012 regular season action on Oct. 12 at the James G. Pressly Stadium, the pair shared first in the SEC standings with identical league records of 7-1. Florida took a come-from-behind win in its meeting with then No. 14 Missouri. The Tigers’ Adeshigbin scored off a corner kick to give MU a 1-0 halftime lead. Sophomore Annie Speese tied the match in the 53rd minute with her five-yard left-footed shot. It was her third consecutive goal versus the Tigers as she provided all the scoring in UF’s 2-0 win at Missouri last season. Dragotta blasted in Adriana Leon’s corner kick from seven yard in the 86th minute to give UF the final 2-1 margin.

Florida’s match can also be heard on ESPN 850/900, by simulcast on Cox Channel 946 (Gainesville/Ocala) or on with Adam Schick calling the action.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.