Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Basketball Headline


Wednesday October 31, 2012Jennifer George Named a Senior CLASS Award Candidate


The University of Florida’s Jennifer George was named as one of 30 candidates for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award for women’s basketball.


To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.


An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.


George, who is the lone senior on the 2012-13 Gator squad that features four returning letterwinners and seven freshmen, has been a 2012-13 Preseason First-Team All-Southeastern Conference selection by every released poll.


George had a breakout season last year, when she was voted by the league’s coaches as a 2012 First Team All-SEC performer and earned recognition as a 2012 WBCA Division I Coaches’ All-America Team Honorable Mention performer. Despite being an undersized post player at 6-foot tall, Jennifer led UF in scoring (12.8 ppg), rebounding (8.8 rpg) - an effort that also ranked second in the SEC (all games) - field goal percentage (53.7%), free throw attempts (135) and double-figure scoring games (24), while ranking second for blocked shots (53) and made free throws (72). She led the SEC (all games) in offensive rebounds (3.7 pg) and doubles-doubles (15), and ranked No. 2 for rebounding, No. 4 for defensive rebounds (5.0 pg), No. 3 for field goal percentage, No. 5 for blocked shots and No. 9 for scoring.


The women’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in New Orleans April 7 and 9.


The candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 men’s and 10 women’s finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one men’s finalist and one women’s finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 


For more information on all the candidates, visit


Women’s Candidates

Kayla Alexander, Syracuse

Anne Marie Armstrong, Georgia

Alex Bentley, Penn State

Brittany Chambers, Kansas State

Layshia Clarendon, California

Tiffany Clarke, Vanderbilt

Elena Delle Donne, Delaware

Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame

Caroline Durbin, New Mexico

Shante Evans, Hofstra

Jennifer George, Florida

Angel Goodrich, Kansas

Lily Grenci, Siena

Brittney Griner, Baylor

Whitney Hand, Oklahoma

Tayler Hill, Ohio State

Jacqui Kalin, Northern Iowa

Marissa Kastanek, North Carolina State

Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts

Anna Martin, DePaul

A'dia Mathies, Kentucky

Victoria McGowan, Stetson

Drey Mingo, Purdue

Ta'Kenya Nixon, Eastern Illinois

Kaela Oakes, Idaho State

Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State

Jaime Printy, Iowa

Sugar Rodgers, Georgetown

Rachel Semansky, Montana State

Naama Shafir, Toledo



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.