Gator Locker Room
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline


Wednesday October 10, 2012Six Gators Named to Phil Steele's 2012 Midseason All-American Team

Gainesville, Fla.

Six Florida football players were named to Phil Steele’s 2012 Midseason All-American Team, released on Wednesday. Running back Mike Gillislee and safety Matt Elam were first team selections. Both of Florida’s specialists, kicker Caleb Sturgis and punter Kyle Christy, were named to the second team. Offensive lineman Jon Halapio and defensive lineman Sharrif Floyd were fourth team selections.


Florida joined Alabama and Ohio State as the only teams with six players included in the 116 players who were selected.


Gillislee, who leads the Southeastern Conference at 109.6 rushing yards per game, has totaled 548 yards and seven touchdowns through the first five games. He has three 100-yard rushing games, highlighted by a 34-carry, 146-yard performance against LSU last weekend. Gillislee was named the Walter Camp National Offensive Player of the Week and the SEC Offensive Player of the Week following the LSU game.


Elam ranks third on the team with 26 tackles and has 3.0 tackles-for-loss with one sack. He also has one interception, two pass breakups and one forced fumble. Elam was named the SEC Co-Defensive Player of the Week after racking up seven tackles against LSU and forcing a fumble in the third quarter that was recovered by the Gators.


Sturgis is 8-for-10 (.800) on field-goal attempts this season and made multiple attempts in the first three games. Sturgis has connected on both of his field goal attempts from beyond 50 yards and now has a school-record seven 50-plus yard field goals in his career. Christy leads the SEC with a 46.5-yard average on 24 punts. Nine of his 24 of his punts have been over 50 yards, nine have been inside the 20-yard line and eight have been fair caught.


Halapio has been the anchor of a much-improved offensive line that has paved the way for Florida’s rushing attack. The Gators rank third in the conference and 24th nationally with 214.8 rushing yards per game. On the other side of the ball, Floyd has been equally important in stopping the run. Floyd has 18 tackles and 3.5 tackles-for-loss with two quarterback hurries and helps lead a defense that ranks fourth in the SEC and 16th nationally against the run (allowing 103.8 yards per game).


The Gators travel to Vanderbilt this weekend for a 6 p.m. kickoff on ESPNU.



Phil Steele’s 2012 Midseason All-American Team


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Geno Smith, West Virginia

Braxton Miller, Ohio St

Collin Klein, Kansas St

AJ McCarron, Alabama


Mike Gillislee, FLORIDA

Jawan Jamison, Rutgers

Johnathan Franklin, UCLA

Cody Getz, Air Force


Le’Veon Bell, Michigan St

Joseph Randle, Oklahoma St

Kenjon Barner, Oregon

Stefphon Jefferson, Nevada


Stedman Bailey, West Virginia

DeAndre Hopkins, Clemson

Markus Wheaton, Oregon St (RB)

Beau Blankenship, Ohio


Marqise Lee, USC

Tavon Austin, West Virginia

Kenny Stills, Oklahoma

Conner Vernon, Duke


Terrance Williams, Baylor

Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

Justin Hunter, Tennessee

Austin Franklin, New Mexico St


Zach Ertz, Stanford

Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington

Dion Sims, Michigan St


Barrett Jones, Alabama

TJ Johnson, South Carolina

Joe Madsen, West Virginia

Dalton Freeman, Clemson


Jonathan Cooper, North Carolina

Larry Warford, Kentucky

Tyler Johnstone, Oregon

Dallas Thomas, Tennessee


Chance Warmack, Alabama

Gabe Jackson, Mississippi St

Cyril Richardson, Baylor

Spencer Long, Nebraska


Taylor Lewan, Michigan

Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

Alex Hurst, LSU

Omoregie Uzzi, Georgia Tech


Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

DJ Fluker, Alabama

Reid Fragel, Ohio St

Jon Halapio, FLORIDA


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Damontre Moore, Texas A&M

Alex Okafor, Texas

Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

Travis Johnson, San Jose St


Star Lotulelei, Utah

Johnathan Hankins, Ohio St

Cornellius Carradine, Florida St

Sylvester Williams, North Carolina


Stephon Tuitt, Notre Dame

Bjoern Werner, Florida St

Will Sutton, Arizona St

Sharrif Floyd, FLORIDA


Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

Sam Montgomery, LSU

John Simon, Ohio St

Quanterus Smith, WKU


Jarvis Jones, Georgia

Kevin Minter, LSU

Khaseem Greene, Rutgers

DeAundre Brown, Tulsa


Manti Te’o, Notre Dame

Kyle Van Noy, BYU

Khalil Mack, Buffalo

Jake Knott, Iowa St


Arthur Brown, Kansas St

Michael Mauti, Penn St

Max Bullough, Michigan St

Kevin Reddick, North Carolina


CJ Mosley, Alabama

Yawin Smallwood, Connecticut

Ryan Shazier, Ohio St

Gerald Hodges, Penn St


Johnthan Banks, Mississippi St

Bradley Roby, Ohio St

Xavier Rhodes, Florida St

Kemal Ishmael, UCF


Dee Milliner, Alabama

Terrance Mitchell, Oregon

Jordan Poyer, Oregon St

Leon McFadden, San Diego St


Eric Reid, LSU

TJ McDonald, USC

Kenny Vaccaro, Texas

Tony Jefferson, Oklahoma


Matt Elam, FLORIDA

Phillip Thomas, Fresno St

Shawn Williams, Georgia

Calvin Pryor, Louisville


1st TEAM

2nd TEAM

3rd TEAM

4th TEAM


Andrew Furney, Washington St

Caleb Sturgis, FLORIDA

Brett Baer, Louisiana

Chris Boswell, Rice


Jeff Locke, UCLA

Kyle Christy, FLORIDA

Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech

Brad Wing, LSU


Dri Archer, Kent St

Tyler Lockett, Kansas St

Mike Edwards, Hawaii

Chase Clayton, New Mexico


Marcus Murphy, Missouri

Rashad Greene, Florida St

Dustin Harris, Texas A&M

Ace Sanders, South Carolina


De’Anthony Thomas, Oregon

Tavon Austin, West Virginia

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska

Antonio Andrews, WKU


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • Sun Sports / Fox Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2014 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., Sun Sports & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.