Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Lacrosse Headline

Tuesday October 2, 2012Amanda O'Leary Named IWLCA South Region Coach of the Year

Gainesville, Fla.

University of Florida lacrosse head coach Amanda O’Leary has been named the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) South Region Coach of the Year, announced by the organization Tuesday.


O’Leary joins Jen Adams (Loyola (Md.), Mid-Atlantic Region) and Gary Gait (Syracuse, Northeast Region) as Region Coaches of the Year while Kelly Amonte Hiller (Northwestern, West/Midwest) took home National Coach of the Year honors as well as regional honors for the West/Midwest. The award is based on a selection by their coaching peers.


This is the second time in her career as a Gator that O’Leary has earned the award, as she also took home the honor last season, and is one of four Division I coaches to earn honors from the IWLCA. In addition, O’Leary earned National Coach of the Year honors from, as the Gators finished an impressive 19-3 in the 2012 slate advancing to the national semifinals of the NCAA Tournament.


O'Leary led Florida to another record-breaking season in 2012. In just its third year, the Gators won both the ALC regular-season title and the ALC Championship, finishing 8-0 on the year against ALC teams. Florida captured 10 wins over ranked opponents, including taking down No. 1 Northwestern twice, the seven-time National Champion's only two losses of the year.


After a 4-2 start, O'Leary's Gators earned 15 straight victories, two conference titles and their first bid to the Final Four. The Gators became the youngest program ever to win back-to-back NCAA Tournament games, and O'Leary became just the third coach in NCAA history to appear in the Final Four as a player (Temple), an assistant (Maryland) and a head coach.


She helped lead UF to finish in the top five nationally in almost every statistical category, including leading the NCAA in scoring defense.  O'Leary's 2012 squad picked up a total of 14 All-America honors, two National Goalie of the Year a, and featured both a Tewaaraton Award finalist and a Honda Sports Award finalist.


For all of the latest information on Florida lacrosse, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida lacrosse on Twitter at @GatorZoneLAX or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


2012 IWLCA Division I Coaching Awards:
National Coach of the Year:
Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern


Regional Coaches of the Year:
Mid-Atlantic: Jen Adams, Loyola (Md.)
Northeast: Gary Gait, Syracuse
West/Midwest: Kelly Amonte Hiller, Northwestern
South: Amanda O’Leary, Florida


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.