Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Swimming & Diving Headline


Friday September 21, 2012Gator Swimming and Diving Holds Annual Team Awards Banquet Friday Night

Gainesville, Fla.

The University of Florida swimming and diving team held their annual team banquet Friday evening at the Gainesville Country Club. The banquet’s emcee was former Gator swimmer Grant Johnson, to honor current and former Gators in town for the Alumni Weekend.


Junior Connor Signorin (East Windsor, N.J.) and senior Jamie Bohunicky (Gainesville, Fla.) received the first award of the evening, as they were given the Giovanni Linscheer Award. Signorin was a key part of the men’s swimming and diving team as he competed in several different events for the Gators throughout the season. He picked up one All-America honor at the 2012 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships as a member of the 800 free relay.


Bohunicky earned four All-America honors at the NCAA Championships, individually in the 200 free and was a member of all three freestyle relay teams. She also had a strong performance at the conference championships with three top 10 finishes.


The Donald Gibb award went to sprint freestylers who consistently put down blistering times during the 2011-12 season. For the men, Brad deBorde (Longwood, Fla.) was given the award after a strong sophomore season that he closed out with six All-America honors. He also won his first individual SEC Championship in the 50 freestyle, while setting a UF record in the event’s preliminaries when he finished in a time of 19.25.


Sarah Bateman (Orlando, Fla.) also set a new school record, when she bested her previous 50 freestyle record with a time of 21.89 at the NCAA Championships. Bateman earned five All-America honors in 2012 and competed in the London Olympics for Iceland.


Up next was the Skip Foster Award, given to the most valuable player for the 2011-12 season. This award went Marcin Cieslak (Warsaw, Poland) for the men and Elizabeth Beisel (North Kingstown, R.I.) for the women. Cieslak had an outstanding sophomore campaign, in which he won three individual SEC titles and brought home six All-America honors at the NCAA Championships. He was named SEC Male Swimmer of the Year and awarded the Commissioner’s Trophy for high point swimmer at the conference meet.


Beisel won three individual SEC titles and added her first NCAA title when she took first in the 200 back. She collected four All-America honors and was named SEC Female Swimmer of the Year and earned the Commissioner’s Trophy for the women. As it was an Olympic year, the coaches handed out the Special Performance Award that was also given the Beisel for her two medal winning swims in London. She brought home a silver medal in the 400 IM and a bronze in the 200 back.


Cameron Martin (Clearwater, Fla.) and recent graduate Teresa Crippen (Conshohocken, Pa.) were given the Leadership Award for their guidance with the team last season. Crippen earned a team-high six All-America honors and placed eighth among all female swimmers at the meet. Martin collected three All-America honors and was named to the 2012 SEC Community Service Team.


The Academic Award was given to Nicholas Caldwell (Sarasota, Fla.) and Hilda Luthersdottir (Hafnarfjordur, Iceland) for their work in the classroom. Both were named CSCAA Scholar All-Americans. The Tracy Caulkins award was given to Molly Dubrasky (Estero, Fla.), who had a break out freshman meet when she placed in the final of the 200 fly at the SEC Championships and was named to the SEC All-Freshmen Team. Eduardo Solaech-Gomez received the Tiger Holmes Outstanding Freshman award for the men. Solaeche-Gomez won his first SEC title, earned three All-SEC honors and two All-America honors.


For the divers, Chris Jones was given the Bill Harlan Award after finishing as the highest Gator at the SEC Championships on the one-meter board. Kaylee Doback earned the award for the women as she represented the Gators at the SEC Championships.


The final awards were given to constant supporters of the swimming and diving team. The Tiger Holmes Award went to Will Hardin and Dave Bloomquist and the Bill Harlan Spirit Award was given to Matt Cetlinski.


The Gators closed out the 2011-12 season with an eighth-place finish for the men and a 10th place finish for the women at the 2012 NCAA Championships. They will be back in action beginning next Friday as they All Florida Invitational will open the 2012-13 season in Gainesville, September 28-30.





Giovanni Linscheer

Connor Signorin

Jamie Bohunicky

Donald Gibb

Brad deBorde

Sara Bateman

Skip Foster

Marcin Cieslak

Elizabeth Beisel


Cameron Martin

Teresa Crippen



Nicholas Caldwell

Hilda Luthersdottir

Tracy Caulkins


Molly Dubrasky

Tiger Holmes

Will Hardin & Dave Bloomquist


Tiger Holmes

Outstanding Freshman

Eduardo Solaeche-Gomez


Bill Harlan Award

Chris Jones

Kaylee Doback

Bill Harlan Spirit Award

Matt Cetlinski


Special Performance Award (Optional)


Elizabeth Beisel


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.