Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Golf Headline


Saturday September 8, 2012No. 12 Gators Open Season at The Invitational at The Ocean Course

Kiawah Island, S.C.



The No. 12 University of Florida men’s golf team will kick off the 2012-13 season at The Invitational at The Ocean Course in Kiawah Island, S.C. on September 9. The tournament will run from September 9-11 and is being hosted by the College of Charleston.


“As always, there is a lot of excitement and enthusiasm going into the first tournament of the year,” said head coach Buddy Alexander. “We believe that we have a chance to have a special season.”


UF’s lineup will consist of seniors T.J. Vogel (Cooper City, Fla.) and Tyler McCumber (Ponte Vedra, Fla.), redshirt sophomores Santiago Gavino (San Luis Potosi, Mexico) and Alex Slaton (Gainesville, Fla.), sophomore J.D. Tomlinson (Gainesville, Fla.), and freshman A.J. Crouch (Jacksonville, Fla.). Four Gators will count towards the team score at the par-72, 7,200 yard course.


“Three golfers will be in the first tournament of their collegiate career,” Alexander stated. “It is a great opportunity to see where they are.”


This will mark the second-consecutive season the Gators will play at The Ocean Course at Kiawah Island, host of the 2012 PGA Championship. Last season, UF recorded its first tournament win at The Bake at The Ocean Course, as three Gators finished in the top-10. Tyler McCumber finished in second place after firing a three-round total of 211 (-5).


Live scoring will be available on as well as


Tournament Field (Golf World/Nike Golf Coaches’ Poll Rankings in Parentheses)

College of Charleston


USC Aiken



Florida (12)


Stephen F. Austin

Georgia Southern


USC Upstate


St. John’s

Texas State


For complete coverage of the Gators’ men’s golf program visit, follow @GatorZoneGolf on Twitter and ‘like’ the University of Florida Men’s Golf page on Facebook.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.