Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Tennis Headline


Thursday September 6, 2012Gators Open 2012-13 Season at 45th Annual Southern Intercollegiate Championships

Gainesville, Fla.

The Florida menís tennis team opens the fall season this weekend at the 45th Annual Southern Intercollegiate Championships, hosted by the University of Georgia at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Ga.


Six Gators will be participating in this weekendís event. Seniors Billy Federhofer (North Miami) and Bob van Overbeek (Boca Raton) and juniors Michael Alford (Tampa) and Florent Diep (Paris, France) return to the court after competing last year for the Gators, while redshirt freshman Gordon Watson (Naples) and true freshman Luke Johnson (Leeds, England) will be making their collegiate debuts. The new Gator coaching staff, head coach Bryan Shelton, assistant coach Amer Delic and volunteer assistant Scott Perelman, will also be making their Florida debut this weekend.


The oldest fall college tennis tournament in the nation, the Southern Intercollegiate was originated by former menís tennis coach Dan Magill in 1968 and marks the opening of the 2012-13 season for the Gators. It will run from Friday through Monday, Sept. 7-10, with as many as three singles divisions and two doubles divisions and a champion to be named in each. There will also be at least two rounds of singles consolation matches.


The 2012 tournament features participants from 23 schools: Armstrong Atlantic, The Citadel, Clemson, East Tennessee State, Florida, Florida Gulf Coast, Furman, Georgia, Georgia College, Georgia Southern, Georgia Tech, Kennesaw State, Kentucky, Liberty, Lipscomb, Mercer, Ole Miss, Mississippi State, North Florida, Presbyterian, UT Chattanooga, Tennessee Tech, and Vanderbilt.


There will be no live scoring for the event, but results will be posted online via the Georgia website.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.