Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Friday July 6, 2012Mike Zunino Becomes The University Of Florida's First USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award Winner

Secaucus, N.J.

Mike Zunino (Cape Coral, Fla.) capped off one of the greatest individual seasons by a University of Florida student-athlete on Friday when USA Baseball announced him as the recipient of the 2012 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA). The prestigious award, now in its 35th year of recognizing the nation's top amateur baseball player, was presented live on MLB Network. Zunino joined fellow catcher Buster Posey (2008) as the only player to collect the Golden Spikes Award, the Dick Howser Trophy and the Johnny Bench Award in the same campaign.


In partnership with Major League Baseball (MLB), Major League Baseball Advanced Media (MLBAM) and MLB Network, USA Baseball announced the GSA winner live on "The Rundown," and the presentation was simulcast on,,, and the Seattle Mariners’ ( and Pittsburgh Pirates’ ( club sites.


Mark Appel (RHP, Stanford) and Carlos Rodon (LHP, NC State) were the other finalists for the award. Zunino was selected with the No. 3 overall pick in the 2012 MLB First-Year Player Draft by the Mariners, while Appel went No. 8 to the Pirates. Rodon recently completed his freshman season for the Wolfpack and is currently a member of the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team.


“USA Baseball could not be more proud of the three Golden Spikes Award finalists, Mike Zunino, Mark Appel and Carlos Rodon,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. “Each athlete authored an incredible season on the diamond this year, and they carried themselves with class off the field as well.  Mike’s performance in 2012 stood above the rest, however, and we are honored to present such a deserving player with the award.”


Zunino is the first GSA winner and highest draft pick in Florida’s history, and he marked the first GSA finalist for the Gators since Matt LaPorta in 2007. The Cape Coral, Fla., native was a consensus first-team All-American, the first Dick Howser Trophy recipient from Florida, Baseball America’s 2012 College Player of the Year, the initial Johnny Bench Award winner from UF and the 2012 National Player of the Year by  


He finished as the Gators’ “Triple Crown” winner, leading the team in batting average (.322), RBI (67) and homers (19), and paced the Orange and Blue in total bases (164), doubles (28), sacrifice flies (11) and slugging percentage (.669). He was also 9-for-10 on the basepaths. According to the final NCAA statistics, Zunino was first nationally in sacrifice flies, third in doubles, fourth in round-trippers, fifth in total bases, ninth in doubles per game, 10th in RBI and 11th in slugging percentage. A two-time, first-team All-SEC recipient and two-time member of the league’s All-Defensive Team, the three-year starter registered a .994 fielding percentage in his final campaign, with three errors in 510 chances, and threw out 20 runners who attempted to steal on him.


Zunino becomes the third catcher in five years to win the GSA, joining 2010 and 2008 recipients, Bryce Harper (Southern Nevada) and Posey (Florida State), respectively. Jason Varitek (Georgia Tech, 1994) is the only other backstop to have won the GSA.


For the fifth year in a row, fans were able to stay up to date on the award by visiting The website features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past-winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights of the 2012 finalists.


Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the GSA. Following the first-ever presentation of the trophy to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the GSA has been awarded each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship.


The 2011 GSA winner was Trevor Bauer of UCLA. Past winners of the award include current Major Leaguers such as Harper (’10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Posey ('08), David Price ('07), Tim Lincecum ('06), Alex Gordon ('05), Jered Weaver ('04), Rickie Weeks ('03), and Mark Kotsay ('95). Former Big League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell ('98), Varitek ('94), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79) and Horner ('78).

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.