Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline


Tuesday June 26, 2012Gator Great Lisa Raymond Named to U.S. Olympic Tennis Team

Gainesville, Fla.

University of Florida great Lisa Raymond was named to the 2012 U.S. Olympic Tennis Team, the USTA announced Tuesday.


Raymond, who currently is co-No. 1 in the WTA world doubles rankings, joins her doubles partner Liezel Huber, along with Serena and Venus Williams as Team USA’s doubles teams representatives for the Olympic Games.


Varvara Lepchenko and Christina McHale join Serena and Venus as singles competitors for the U.S.A. in London.


The 2012 Olympic Games will be Raymond’s second time representing the United States Olympic Team. She was a member of the 2004 squad and was an alternate in 2000. Gator Jill Craybas competed for the U.S.A. at the 2008 Games, while Jill Hetherington competed for her native Canada in 1984, 1988 and 1996.


The grass courts at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club and The Championships - Wimbledon - will play host to 2012 Olympic Tennis competition.


During her illustrious Gator career, Raymond captured four collegiate Grand Slam singles titles, including the 1992 and 1993 NCAA Championships. She posted a 50-4 singles record during her rookie season and followed with a 34-0 mark in her second and final year before joining the professional tour where she has gone on to win 10 Grand Slam titles: Women’s Doubles - 2001, 2005 & 2011 U.S. Open; 2006 French Open; 2001 Wimbledon; 2000 Australian Open; Mixed Doubles Titles – 2003 French Open, 1996 & 2002 U.S. Open, 1999 Wimbledon.


When Raymond paired with Huber to win the 2011 U.S. Open Women’s Doubles crown at the age of 38, she surpassed Billie Jean King as the oldest woman ever to win a Grand Slam doubles championship.



2012 Olympic Tennis Schedule – Women’s Doubles

July 28-29: First Round

July 30: Second Round

July 31-August 1: Quarterfinals

August 2: Semifinals

August 5: Finals


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.