Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Softball Headline

Wednesday May 9, 2012Michelle Moultrie Earns SEC Softball Player of the Year Accolades; Seven Gators on All-SEC Teams

Tuscaloosa, Ala.

For the second year in a row, the Gator softball team took the league’s Player of the Year honor, as senior centerfielder Michelle Moultrie (Jacksonville, Fla.) added another accolade to her career tally with SEC Player of the Year honors. Moultrie, a 2012 First Team All-SEC pick in the outfield, led a UF team that placed seven Gators on All-SEC squads.


A day before the Gator softball team takes on LSU to kick off the 2012 SEC Tournament, Moultrie became the fourth UF player in school history to pick up Player of the Year honors, the third under head coach Tim Walton. Moultrie follows 2011 senior Kelsey Bruder, while Kristen Butler (2006) and Chelsey Sakkizie (1998) have also picked up the coveted accolade.


Moultrie is the fourth Gator student-athlete to pick up SEC Player of the Year honors through the 2011-12 academic year, as Marcin Cieslak and Elizabeth Beisel claimed both swimming Player of the Year honors for UF, while Lauren Embree was the Women's Tennis SEC Player of the Year.


Moultrie picked up All-SEC honors for the fourth-consecutive season after being a second-team pick in 2010 and 2011 – along with All-Defensive Team accolades last year – and an All-Freshman pick in 2009. The pitcher-catcher duo of sophomore ace Hannah Rogers (Lake Wales, Fla.) and junior catcher Kelsey Horton (Valrico, Fla.) teamed up for Second Team All-SEC honors, the second time for each on All-SEC squads, as Rogers was named to the second team, all-freshman and all-defensive teams as a freshman in 2011. Horton was named an All-Freshman selection her first year on campus in 2010.


Earlier this week, Horton was named to the SEC Community Service Team for her contributions to the Gainesville community, in addition to her work on the softball diamond.


A grand total of four UF freshmen were named to the SEC All-Freshman team, tying for the most in school history with the 2008 tally of four. First-year pitcher Alyssa Bache (Clearwater, Fla.), first baseman and righty Lauren Haeger (Peoria, Ariz.), third baseman Sami Fagan (Dunnellon, Fla.) and left fielder Jess Damico (Gray Summit, Mo.) all picked up their first league accolades donning the Orange and Blue.


Florida, which picked up the No. 3 seed in the 2012 SEC Tournament, will rematch with LSU Thursday at 11 a.m. CT in the first game of the league tournament. The contest between the Gators and Tigers will be broadcast on ESPNU, with Cara Capuano, Michele Smith and Holly Rowe on the sideline.


UF and LSU last split a doubleheader in Gainesville April 24. Down, 1-0, heading to the seventh, UF junior Ensley Gammel knocked a solo shot to send the game into extras. Senior Michelle Moultrie then connected for a RBI double in the bottom of the eighth to walk the Gators off for their third extra-innings victory of the year. LSU claimed the nightcap, 1-0, for the split. Florida is 17-22 (.435) all-time in the SEC Tournament. Earlier in the week, junior Kelsey Horton was Florida’s representative on the SEC Community Service Team, announced Monday. LSU holds the all-time advantage in the history of the series, with a 29-19 edge, including a 5-2 advantage on neutral ground.



Player of the Year

Michelle Moultrie, Florida


Pitcher of the Year

Jackie Traina, Alabama


Coach of the Year

Pat Murphy, Alabama


Freshman of the Year

Devon Wallace, Arkansas


Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Jennifer Fenton, Alabama; Brittany Mack, LSU


First Team All-SEC

P - Jackie Traina, Alabama

P - Ellen Renfroe, Tennessee

IF - Raven Chavanne, Tennessee

IF - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky

IF - Kaila Hunt, Alabama

IF - Madison Shipman, Tennessee

OF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida

OF - Jennifer Fenton, Alabama

OF - Lauren Lackey, South Carolina

OF - Kat Dotson, Tennessee

C - Kristyn Sandberg, Georgia

DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas


Second Team All-SEC

P - Rachele Fico, LSU

P - Hannah Rogers, Florida; Erin Arevalo, Georgia

IF - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

IF - Lauren Guzman, Auburn

IF - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama

IF - Kara Dill, Kentucky

OF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama

OF - Kayla Braud, Alabama

OF - RT Cantillo, Ole Miss

OF - Melissa Davin, Tennessee

C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama; Kelsey Horton, Florida

DP/U - Amanda Locke, Alabama


Freshman All-SEC

P - Kimmy Beasley, Arkansas

P - Alyssa Bache, Florida

IF - Lauren Haeger, Florida

IF - Paige Wilson, Georgia

IF - Sami Fagan, Florida

IF - Allison Brown, Ole Miss

OF - A.J. Andrews, LSU

OF - Jessica Damico, Florida

OF - Branndi Melero, Auburn

OF - Ashley Phillips, Mississippi State

C - Griffin Joiner, Kentucky

DP/U - Devon Wallace, Arkansas


SEC All-Defensive

P - Hannah Rogers, Florida

C - Kendall Dawson, Alabama

1B - Cassie Reilly-Boccia, Alabama

2B - Lauren Gibson, Tennessee

SS - Madison Shipman, Tennessee

3B - Brittany Cervantes, Kentucky

LF - Ashley Langoni, LSU

CF - Michelle Moultrie, Florida

RF - Jaz Lunceford, Alabama



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.