Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Golf Headline

Monday April 30, 2012No. 14 Gators Travel to Penn State for NCAA East Regional May 10-12

Gainesville, Fla.

Jan Dowling

The No. 14 University of Florida women’s golf team was announced as part of the field for the 2011 NCAA East Women’s Golf Regional tournament by the NCAA Division I Women’s Golf Committee on Monday.


The Gators will attempt to advance to the NCAA Championships for the 23rd time in school history and the first back-to-back appearances since 2006. Florida has now received a bid to participate in a regional 19 of 20 years since the regional format began in 1993, only missing out in 1999.


The NCAA East Regional tournament, hosted by Penn State University, will be held on the par-72, 6,253-yard Penn State Blue Course in State College, Pa. from May 10-12.  


“No matter where you get placed, the NCAA Regionals always have tough fields,” said head coach Jan Dowling. “As a team, we have become very good at focusing on our own games and what we need to accomplish, having a lot of success. On top of that, we have had some tremendous tests throughout the year to prepare us for post season.


“Penn State will be a great experience, and we are really looking forward next week. It’s an exciting time of year.”


The East Regional includes eight teams that won their conference championships and eight teams ranked in the Top 25 of the Golf World/NGCA Coaches’ Poll as of April 23: No. 2 Alabama, No. 3 Arizona State, No. 8 Duke, No. 13 Texas A&M, No. 14 Florida, No. 16 Oklahoma State, No. 19 Arizona and No. 25 South Carolina. Alabama, Florida and South Carolina represent the SEC in the East.


Three regional tournaments will be conducted to determine the championships field: the East Regional, the Central Regional at Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio hosted by Ohio State University, and the West Regional at Colorado Nation Golf Club in Erie, Colo. hosted by the University of Colorado


A total of 378 participants were selected for regional competition.  Of these players, 126 will advance to the championships finals.  The top eight teams and two individuals not on those eight teams will advance from each regional.


The NCAA Championships will be held May 22-25 at the Vanderbilt Legends Club in Franklin, Tenn., and will be hosted by Vanderbilt.


 NCAA East Regional Tournament Field

1. Alabama

2. Arizona State

*3. Duke (Atlantic Coast)

4. Texas A&M

5. Florida

6. Arizona

7. Oklahoma State

8. South Carolina

*9. Michigan State (Big Ten)

10. Washington

11. Texas

12. Tulane

13. UCF

14. Wake Forest

15. Northwestern

16. San Diego State

*17. Kent State (Mid-American)

18. Maryland

19. Augusta State

*20. Campbell (Big South)

*21. Chattanooga (Southern)

*22. Oral Roberts (Summit League)

*23. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley)

*24. LIU Brooklyn (Northeast)

*conference champions via winning conference tournament



Fanny Cnops, UNC-Greensboro

Charlotta Lorentzen, Georgia State

Kelly Shon, Princeton

Katie Mundy, FIU

Michelle Piyapattra, Columbia

Laura Wearn, Furman


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.