Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Golf Headline

Monday April 30, 2012Vogel, McCumber and Tomlinson Honored by the SEC

Birmingham, Ala.

The University of Florida menís golf team saw a trio of golfers, T.J. Vogel (Cooper City, Fla.), Tyler McCumber (Ponte Vedra, Fla.) and J.D. Tomlinson (Gainesville, Fla.), take home honors from the Southeastern Conference. Vogel was named a first team all-conference selection, McCumber made the second team, while Tomlinson garnered all-freshman honors.


Vogel, a junior transfer from USC who ranks third in the SEC with a 71.03 stroke average, has had an impressive debut season for the Orange and Blue winning two events and finishing in the top-10 eight times. Vogel also leads the Gators in several statistical categories including rounds counted (95 percent), stroke differential (1.90), tournaments (7) and rounds (20) at or under par and birdies (112). Additionally, Vogel finished in the top-20 of all but one tournament on the season thus far.


McCumber is having a solid junior campaign ranking second on UF in scoring (73.0), percent of rounds counted (88 percent), scoring differential (3.90), tournaments (4) and rounds (15) at or under par, birdies (96) and eagles (4). Additionally, McCumber has finished in the top-20 of all but three tournaments, including five top-10s and three top-5s. †


Tomlinson has come on strong at the end of the regular season for the Gators posting top-20 finishes in his four of his past five events, including a pair of top-10s. During his solid spring, Tomlinson has a stroke average of 72 and has all but two rounds count towards the teamís score.


The Gators will return to action at NCAA Regionals beginning on Friday, May 18.


2012 SEC Menís Golf Honors



Jay Seawell, Alabama



Justin Thomas, Alabama



Austin Cook, Arkansas



Justin Thomas, Alabama



First-team All-SEC

Justin Thomas, Alabama

T.J. Vogel, Florida

Blayne Barber, Auburn

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Ethan Tracy, Arkansas

Sang Yi, LSU

Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas


Second Team All-SEC

Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn

Joe David, Ole Miss

Niclas Carlsson, Auburn

Hunter Hamrick, Alabama

Will McCurdy, Auburn

Garrick Porteous, Tennessee

Tyler McCumber, Florida

Andrew Presley, LSU

Chad Ramey, Mississippi State


All-Freshman Team

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Michael Johnson, Auburn

Nicholas Reach, Georgia

Kolton Crawford, Arkansas

J.D. Tomlinson, Florida

Caleb Sturgeon, South Carolina




Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.