Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Golf Headline


Thursday April 19, 2012Gators Begin Postseason Play at SEC Championship

Fayetteville, Ark.

After consecutive top-three finishes, the UF women’s golf team will travel to Fayetteville, Ark. to compete in the 2012 SEC Women’s Golf Championship. The No. 15 ranked Gators finished ninth at last year’s event with a 907 (+43). Junior Mia Piccio was Florida’s top finisher last year with a 12th-place finish after shooting a five-over 221. Auburn, who hosted last year’s tournament, is the defending champion after posting an even par 864.


The SEC Championship, played at Blessings Golf Club, is a three-day event set to be played Friday, April 20 through Sunday, April 22. There will be three 18-hole rounds with a round being played each day.


The Gators have won eight SEC team titles and have had six individual medalists at the SEC Championship all-time. UF last gained the conference title in 2008.


UF will compete against all members of the SEC. Alabama, the No. 2 ranked team in the country, headlines a field that has nine teams ranked or receiving votes in the latest Golf World/NGCA Coaches’ Poll. Auburn (5), LSU (6), Vanderbilt (9), Georgia (10), Tennessee (12) and Florida (15) are also ranked in the top-15


Florida’s lineup for the SEC Championship is as follows:




2011-12 Average

Evan Jensen



Camilla Hedberg



Andrea Watts



Mia Piccio



Isabelle Lendl




For live scoring throughout the tournament visit


Click here for complete pre-tournament notes.


For complete coverage of UF’s women’s golf program visit, follow @GatorZoneGolf on Twitter and ‘like’ the University of Florida Women’s Golf page on Facebook.


Tournament Field (Golf World/NGCA Coaches’ Poll rankings in parentheses)

Alabama (2)

Arkansas (RV)

Auburn (5)

Florida (15)

Georgia (10)


LSU (6)

Ole Miss

Mississippi State

South Carolina (25)

Tennessee (12)

Vanderbilt (9)


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.