Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Track & Field Headline


Tuesday April 10, 2012Whittaker Named SEC Co-Women's Runner of the Week

Gainesville, Fla.

Junior sprinter Lanie Whittaker (Miami, Fla.) has been named the Southeastern Conference Co-Women’s Runner of the Week for her phenomenal performances at the 68th Annual Pepsi Florida Relays this past weekend, the league offices in Birmingham, Ala. announced Tuesday.


Whittaker turned in arguably the best weekend of her career, as she ran a personal-best time of 52.06 in the women’s 400 meters to finish as the top collegian in the event. Her time ranks her first in the SEC and the NCAA. Further, her 52.06 puts her among some good company, as she currently ranks eighth in the world in the women’s 400 meters and is now sixth all-time in the event at UF.


Whittaker was a part of three races over the weekend, including the 1600 meter sprint medley relay and the 4x400-meter relay. The SMR took home the Florida Relays title and the 4x4 came in third to round out the weekend.


This is the sixth overall weekly honor for the Gator program in 2012, as former Gator All-American thrower Kemal Mesic (Sarajevo, Bosnia) earned SEC Men’s Field Athlete of the Week honors twice during the indoor season, bookending a weekly honor for freshman jumper Taylor Burke (Medina, Ohio), who was named SEC Co-Women’s Freshman of the Week earlier in the indoor season. Senior sprinter Jeff Demps (Winter Garden, Fla.) was honored last week for his performance at the 85th Annual Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays.


Florida now looks ahead to hosting the Tom Jones Memorial Classic. The event will take place Saturday, April 21. Schedule and meet information can be found here.


For all of the latest information on Florida track and field, please log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow Florida track and field on Twitter at @GZTrackField or You can also find the Gators on Facebook.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.