Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Swimming & Diving Headline

Friday February 17, 2012After Morning Session, Gators Looking to Close Gap During Finals

Knoxville, Tenn.

Morning prelims have come to a close for the University of Florida swimming and Diving team as the men will swim nine up and 10 down, and the women seven up and six down in tonight’s finals.


Just 25 points behind No. 1 Auburn, the men look to close that gap with Auburn sending 10 swimmers up and just five down in tonight’s races.


The men bring with them a strong presence in both the 400 IM and 200 free with five swimmers collectively swimming either up or down in either final round, while the 100 fly will have four swimmers donning orange and blue caps with two in both the champion and consolation final.


Florida swimmers own the top two seeds of the men’s 400 IM after freshmen Dan Wallace (North Berwick, Scotland) and Eduardo Solaeche (Madrid, Spain) went on to record career-best times of 3:46.14 and 3:47.99, respectively, en route to posting two of the countries top-10 Division I times.


Sophomore Connor Signroin (East Windsor, N.J.), who took fourth in the 400 IM at last year’s conference championships, trails closely behind with a prelim time of 3:48.93 to be seeded fourth.


Although last night’s 200 IM Champion, sophomore Marcin Cieslak (Warsaw, Poland) is the only Gator to swim in the men’s 200 free championship final, he takes with him a 1:35.37 performance and a top spot as the No. 2 swimmer entering the race.


Junior, and team captain Cameron Martin (Clearwater, Fla.) and 2012 50 free SEC Champion, Brad deBorde (Longwood, Fla.) will swim for Florida in tonight’s 100 fly finals after posting marks of 47.11 and 47.53, respectively, this morning. The 47.53 for deBorde bests his previous career time of 49.79 by more than two seconds.


Freshman Matt Elliott (Peoria, Ill.) will be Florida’s only swimmer in the 100 breast after he dished out the fastest mark of his career to date, 54.12, the third best time in Florida history, to advance to the finals and carry the No. 5 seed.


Martin will make another appearance in the finals as he’ll race for the Orange and Blue in the 100 back (48.17, personal best) alongside freshman teammate Matt Curby (Oviedo, Fla.) who touched in 48.36, a career effort.


In the morning’s opening event for the women, Gator and U.S. National teammates sophomore Elizabeth Beisel (North Kingstown, R.I.) and senior Teresa Crippen (Conshohocken, Pa.) clocked the two fastest times heading into the championship final at 4:03.27 and 4:09.03, respectively.


For Beisel, the reigning 400 IM champion and SEC record holder – the time meets NCAA automatic qualifying standards. It is her second automatic, individual cut of the meet and third overall, as she was a member of the women’s 800 freestyle relay that clocked in an A-cut time on Wednesday night.


The pair will be joined by Kirsten Smith (Cary, N.C.), who enters the race as the six seed with a preliminary B time of 4:11.31.


Senior Sarah Bateman (Orlando, Fla.) will be Florida’s lone representative in the 100 fly final, after she swam a 53.04 preliminary mark this morning. She joins three other swimmers that collected ‘A’ times this morning in Tennessee’s Jenny Connolly and Auburn’s Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace and Olivia Scott.


Jamie Bohunicky (Gainesville, Fla.) and Natasha Fung (Edmonton, Canada) will swim the 200 free in tonight’s final for the Orange and Blue. The duo of freestylers enter one after another with the No. 6 and 7 seed after touching in 1:46.85 and 1:47.05, respectively.


Swimming down for the Florida men will be freshman Nicholas Caldwell (Sarasota, Fla.) in the 200 free; freshman Scott Heil (Skillman, N.J.) in the 200 free; freshman Christian Homer (Trinidad & Tobago) in both the 100 fly and back; senior Brian Howell (Cincinnati, Ohio) in the 400 IM; senior Gabriel Huen (Caracas, Venezuela) in both the 100 fly and back; redshirt senior Matt Norton (Port Orange, Fla.) in the 200 free; freshman Carlos Omana (Miami, Fla.) in the 400 IM and junior Jason Taylor (1:38.43) in the 200 free.


Swimming down for the Gator women will be senior Angelina Ballatore (Gainesville, Fla.); freshman Rebecca Rainer (Richmond, Va.) in the 400 IM; sophomore Trish Regan (Carmel, Ind.) in the 100 back; junior Corinne Showalter (Sarasota, Fla.) in the 200 free and sophomore Ellese Zalewski (Melbourne, Australia) in the 100 fly.


Check this evening for a full recap of tonight’s finals from the Allan Jones Aquatic Center. Swimmers will take to the pool for final heats of all this morning’s events, as well as the 400 medley relays and men’s platform diving competition. For all the latest up-to-date information about the Florida swimming and diving team, make sure to follow us on Twitter at @GatorZoneSwimDv.





400 IM

Brian Howell, 9th, 3:50.94

Carlos Omana, 15th, 3:56.01


100 Fly

Christian Homer, 11th, 48.16*

Gabriel Huen, 12th, 48.18

James Turner, 21st, 48.98*


200 Free

Nicholas Caldwell, 10th, 1:36.98*

Scott Heil, 13th, 1:37.63*

Matt Norton, 15th, 1:38.42

Jason Taylor, 16th, 1:38.43*

Jonathan Jordan, 1:39.67


100 Breast

Ricky Munch, no place, 56.19*


100 Back

Christian Homer, 15th, 49.29*

Gabriel Huen, 16th, 49.40*



400 IM

Rebecca Rainer, 10th, 4:14.19*

Angelina Ballatore, 11th, 4:14.40

Lauren Neidigh, no place, 4:22.65*


100 Fly

Ellese Zalewski, 9th, 53.44

Kaitlin Frehling, 19th, 54.86

Anna-Liisa Pold, 26th, 55.31


200 Free

Corinne Showalter, 16th, 1:49.41

Alicia Matheiu, 22nd, 1:50.16*

Sharla Milne, no place, 1:51.51


100 Breast

Sarra Lajnef, 14th, 1:02.01

Rebecca Rainer, 18th, 1:02.48*


100 Back

Trish Regan, 15th, 55.82*

Anna-Liisa Pold, 23d, 56.43*


*indicated personal-best time


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.