Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Tennis Headline

Saturday January 14, 2012Two Doubles Pairs Advance to Quarterfinals at 2012 SEC Coaches' Indoor Championships

Lexington, Ky.

The Gators had two doubles teams advance to the quarterfinals of the 2012 SEC Coaches’ Indoor Championships on Saturday, although no singles players were able to reach the quarterfinals.


Andrew Butz and Bob van Overbeek paired up to defeat Tom Jomby and Anthony Rossi from Kentucky, 8-4, in the Round of 16. They advance to face Ivan Machado and Thiago Pinheiro from South Carolina on Sunday.


Frank Carleton and Spencer Newman, who had great success teaming together in the fall, took down UK’s Maks Gold and Ryuji Hirooka, 8-3. The Gator duo will play Georgia’s Spencer and Brasseaux in tomorrow’s action.


Although there are no UF players remaining in the main draw, sophomore Michael Alford continues to advance through the consolation bracket, winning two matches in Saturday’s action. Alford beat Alabama’s Michael Thompson in three sets, 6-4, 4-6, 10-7, before advancing past Suresh Eswaran from Vanderbilt, 7-5, 6-2.


Fellow sophomore Spencer Newman is also still alive in consolation play, beating Ignacio Taboado from UGA, 6-3, 6-7, 10-3. He advanced to Sunday with a 6-2, 6-3 win over Alabama’s Filippos Tsangarides.


Complete results can be found online here:



SEC Coaches’ Indoor Championships

January 13-15, 2012

Lexington, Ky.



Round of 64 (Friday 1/13)

Florent Diep (UF) def. Kyle Koch (USC) 6-2, 6-2

Billy Federhofer (UF) def. Joe Rogers (Ole Miss) 6-3, 6-4

Nassim Slilam (UF) def. Nathan Pasha (UGA) 7-5, 3-6, 7-6 (9)

KU Singh (UGA) def. Michael Alford (UF) 7-6 (2), 6-1

Frank Carleton (UF) def. Thiago Pinheiro (USC) 6-0, 6-4

Andrew Butz (UF) def. Ryuji Hirooka (UK) 6-3, 6-7 (5), 6-1

Spencer Newman (UF) – bye

Bob van Overbeek (UF) – bye


Round of 32 (Friday 1/13)

William Kallberg (Ole Miss) def. Florent Diep (UF) 6-4, 5-7, 7-6 (3)

Charlie Jones (Vanderbilt) def. Billy Federhofer (UF) 6-3, 6-3

Nik Scholtz (Ole Miss) def. Nassim Slilam (UF) 4-6, 6-0, 7-6 (2)

Gonzalez Austin (Vanderbilt) def. Spencer Newman (UF) 6-3, 6-3

Frank Carleton (UF) def. Panav Jha (Kentucky) 7-5, 6-2

Andrew Butz (UF) def. Hernus Pieters (UGA) 6-3, 6-4

Nick Jones (South Carolina) def. Bob van Overbeek (UF) 3-6, 6-0, 6-4


Round of 16 (Saturday 1/14)

Sadio Doumbia (UGA) def. Frank Carleton (UF) 6-1, 4-6, 6-2

Jonas Lutjen (Ole Miss) def. Andrew Butz (UF) 6-1, 6-4


Consolation I (Friday 1/13)

Michael Alford (UF) def. Jeff Offerdahl (Vanderbilt) 6-2, 7-5 – R32


Consolation I (Saturday 1/14)

Alford (UF) def. Thompson (Alabama) 6-4, 4-6, 10-7 – R16

Alford (UF) def. Esuwaren (Vanderbilt) 7-5, 6-2 – QF


Consolation I (Sunday 1/15)

Alford (UF) vs. Hirooka (UK) – SF


Consolation II (Saturday 1/14)

Diep (UF) def. Doverspike (Alabama) w/d Inj. – R16

Machado (South Carolina) def. Diep (UF) – QF

Machado (South Carolina) def. Federhofer (UF) Default – R16

Tsangarides (Alabama) def. Slilam (UF) Default – R16

Newman (UF) def. Taboado (UGA) 6-3, 6-7, 10-3 – R16

Newman (UF) def. Tsangarides (Alabama) 6-2, 6-3 – QF

Thiemann (Ole Miss) def. van Overbeek (UF) 6-2, 6-3 – R16


Consolation II (Sunday 1/15)

Newman (UF) vs. Machado (South Carolina) – SF




Round of 32 (Friday 1/13)

Doverspike/Tsangaridis (Alabama) def. Alford/Diep (UF) 9-8 (5)

Federhofer/Slilam (UF) – bye

Butz/van Overbeek (UF) – bye

Carleton/Newman (UF) – bye


Round of 16 (Saturday 1/14)

Jha/Quigley (Kentucky) def. Federhofer/Slilam (UF) 8-6

Butz/van Overbeek (UF) def. Jomby/Rossi (Kentucky) 8-4

Carleton/Newman (UF) def. Gold/Hirooka (Kentucky) 8-3


Quarterfinals (Sunday 1/15)

Butz/van Overbeek (UF) vs. Machado/Pinheiro (South Carolina)

Carleton/Newman (UF) vs. Spencer/Brasseaux (UGA)


Consolation Quarterfinal (Saturday 1/14)

Barnette/Esques (USC) def. Alford/Diep (UF) Ret. Inj.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.