Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Monday November 21, 2011Florida Kicker Caleb Sturgis Named Finalist for 2011 Lou Groza Award

Gainesville, Fla.

Redshirt junior Caleb Sturgis has been named one of three finalists for the 2011 Lou Groza Award, given annually to the nationís top placekicker, announced today by the Palm Beach Sports Commission. The last time that Florida had a kicker named a finalist for the award was in 1993, when Judd Davis became the only UF player to win the Lou Groza Award.


Sturgis, a native of St. Augustine, Fla., is tied for second in the nation with 21 field goals made on the season. He has converted 21 of 25 field goal attempts (84.0 percent) and has made all 27 extra point attempts. Sturgis is tied for 14th in the nation in kicking points (90) and has made at least one field goal in every game he has played this season, including multiple conversions in eight of 10 appearances.


Before missing a 52-yard attempt against Alabama, Sturgis had made 14-straight field goals dating back to last season, a streak that was the third-longest in school history. He kicked a 55-yard field goal against Furman, giving him three field goals from 50-or-more yards on the season, tied for the most in the nation. Sturgis holds the school record with five made field goals of 50-or-more yards.


In his career, Sturgis has made 45 of 59 field goal attempts (76.3 percent) and 92 of 96 extra points. He has accounted for 227 points as a Gator, ranking fourth all-time in Florida history.


Sturgis, along with Florida Stateís Dustin Hopkins and Texas A&Mís Randy Bullock, will be honored at the 20th annual Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Awards Banquet on December 6 in West Palm Beach, Florida. The award presentation will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8, 2011. For more information regarding the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award, please go to

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.