Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Tuesday October 4, 2011Gator Baseball Season-Ticket Sales Start Tuesday

Gainesville, Fla.

Season tickets for the 2012 Gator Baseball season will go on sale Tuesday, Oct. 4. Season tickets can be purchased online at or by calling the Gator Ticket Office at 1-800-34-GATOR from 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m., Monday through Friday. †The deadline to renew season tickets is Friday, Dec. 16, at 5 p.m. 


The Gators' 56-game schedule features 35 games within the friendly confines of McKethan Stadium at Perry Field, where the squad registered a 34-7 (.829) mark last season and is 124-26 (.827) during head coach Kevin OíSullivanís tenure. In addition to the season-opening, three-game series against Cal State Fullerton from Friday-Sunday, Feb. 17-19, Florida will also welcome traditional Sunshine State rivals Florida State (March 13), Bethune-Cookman (Feb. 21 & April 25), Florida A&M (March 7), Florida Atlantic (March 6), Florida Gulf Coast (March 9-11), North Florida (May 15), UCF (Feb. 22) and USF (April 24). Other foes who will visit include William & Mary (Feb. 24-26), Samford (March 20-21) and Georgia Southern (April 17). The five, three-game SEC home series pit the Gators against Vanderbilt (March 16-18), LSU (April 6-8), Georgia (April 20-22), Arkansas (April 27-29) and Mississippi State (May 11-13).


Season Ticket Prices are as follows:

Season Box Seat: $150

Season Chairback: $125

Season Reserved Bleacher: $100

Family Pass (Bleachers Rows 11-20): $125


In OíSullivanís fourth season at the helm, the Gators were 53-19 and finished as the runner-up at the NCAA College World Series and established a school record for victories. He earned 2011 College Coach of the Year honors from Baseball America, the first individual from UF to collect the publicationís yearly accolade. Florida made the trip to Omaha in consecutive seasons for the first time and made the CWS for the seventh time in school history (1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2005, 2010, 2011).


With a 22-8 performance in the SEC that matched South Carolina and Vanderbilt for the top spot, Florida has now captured an SEC-best 21 division championships and its 12 league championships are third behind LSU (14) and Alabama (13). UF became the East winner for the third year in a row, matching its feat from 1996-98. The Gators have also won SEC crowns in 1952, 1956, 1962, 1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1996, 1998, 2005 and 2010. Florida claimed eight of its 10 SEC series and the teamís 22 victories in league play equaled the school record set in í10.


OíSullivanís club reached the 40-win plateau for the 20th time in school history and the school-record 53 wins marked the third time that the program exceeded 50 wins (also in 1991 & 1996). The Gators blanked Vanderbilt, 5-0, to capture the 2011 SEC Tournament in Hoover, Ala. It was the first time in 20 years that Florida won the leagueís tourney and was its sixth title (1981, 1982, 1984, 1988, 1991, 2011). The triumph also represented the first time since 1988 that the Orange and Blue had won the SEC and SEC Tourney in the same season.


The Gators return a solid nucleus that includes 2011 SEC Player of the Year catcher Mike Zunino (Cape Coral, Fla.), 2011 Perfect Game Freshman Pitcher of the Year right-hander Karsten Whitson (Chipley, Fla.), as well as All-SEC selections shortstop Nolan Fontana (Winter Garden, Fla.), left-hander/first baseman Brian Johnson (Cocoa Beach, Fla.), right-hander Hudson Randall (Atlanta, Ga.) and outfielder Preston Tucker (Tampa, Fla.), 2011 SEC Tournament Most Valuable Player outfielder Daniel Pigott (Ormond Beach, Fla.), 2011 College World Series All-Tournament Team selection third baseman Cody Dent (Boynton Beach, Fla.), catcher/infielder/right-hander Austin Maddox (Jacksonville, Fla.), left-hander Steven Rodriguez (Miami, Fla.) and 2011 SEC All-Freshman Team third baseman Zack Powers (Seffner, Fla.). OíSullivan welcomes his fourth-straight top-10 incoming class, a group that boasts 13 newcomers. 


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.