Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Thursday June 16, 2011UF's Mike Zunino Collects First-Team All-American Recognition From Baseball America

Omaha, Neb.

Sophomore catcher Mike Zunino (Cape Coral, Fla.) was named a first-team All-American by Baseball America on Thursday after previously being chosen to the second team produced by Louisville Slugger and to the third team released by the National Baseball Collegiate Writers Association (NCBWA).


The 2011 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year, Zunino is a member of the 2011 USA Baseball Collegiate National Team and is one of three finalists for the Johnny Bench Award. The first-team All-SEC selection leads the top-ranked Gators and is among the league leaders in batting average (.376), total bases (168), hits (92), runs (72), doubles (22), homers (18), slugging percentage (.686) and on-base percentage (.444). He has registered a .996 fielding percentage, with two errors in 524 chances, and has thrown out almost a third of the runners who have attempted to steal on him.


In UFís six NCAA Tourney games, Zunino is hitting .458 (11-for-24) with nine runs, seven RBI, three homers and three doubles. Last weekend versus Mississippi State in the Super Regional, he was 6-for-13 (.462) and belted a pair of round-trippers.


Zunino batted .422 in conference games, second behind LSUís Mikie Mahtook (.425), and had 36 runs, 33 RBI, 14 doubles and eight homers in the 30 league outings. He became the first Florida catcher to earn first-team All-SEC since Mario Linares in 1991 and was a two-time SEC Player of the Week recipient.


After capturing both the Regional and Super Regional rounds of the NCAA Tournament held at McKethan Stadium, Florida (50-17) opens the 2011 NCAA College World Series on Saturday at 7 p.m. by facing Texas (49-17) on ESPN.


2011 Baseball America All-America Teams

First Team
C    Mike Zunino, FLORIDA
1B    C.J. Cron, Utah
2B    Kolten Wong, Hawaii
3B    Colin Moran, North Carolina
SS    Brad Miller, Clemson
OF    Jason Krizan, Dallas Baptist
OF    Mikie Mahtook, Louisiana State
OF    Victor Roache, Georgia Southern
DH    Jake Lowery, James Madison
UT    Danny Hultzen, Virginia
SP    Trevor Bauer, UCLA
SP    Sean Gilmartin, Florida State
SP    Taylor Jungmann, Texas
SP    Michael Roth, South Carolina
RP    Cody Martin, Gonzaga
UT    Danny Hultzen, Virginia

Second Team
C    Nick Rickles, Stetson
1B    Aaron Westlake, Vanderbilt
2B    Tommy La Stella, Coastal Carolina
3B    Jason Esposito, Vanderbilt
SS    Joe Panik, St. John's
OF    Trever Adams, Creighton
OF    Bryson Myles, Stephen F. Austin
OF    George Springer, Connecticut
DH    Adam Brett Walker, Jacksonville
UT    Nick Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton
SP    Matt Barnes, Connecticut
SP    Grayson Garvin, Vanderbilt
SP    Sam Gaviglio, Oregon State
SP    Sonny Gray, Vanderbilt
RP    Corey Knebel, Texas
UT    Nick Ramirez, Cal State Fullerton

Third Team
C    Tyler Ogle, Oklahoma
1B    Christian Walker, South Carolina
2B    Dan Paolini, Siena
3B    Matt Leeds, College of Charleston
SS    Chad Zurcher, Memphis
OF    Daniel Aldrich, Coll. of Charleston
OF    James Ramsey, Florida State
OF    Dusty Robinson, Fresno State
DH    Joey DeMichele, Arizona State
UT    Bo Reeder, East Tennessee State
SP    Greg Gonzalez, Fresno State
SP    Mark Pope, Georgia Tech
SP    Matt Summers, UC Irvine
SP    Michael Wacha, Texas A&M
RP    Matt Price, South Carolina
UT    Bo Reeder, East Tennessee State


For all of the latest information on Florida baseball, log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow the teamís Twitter account @GatorZoneBB at


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.