Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

The first airing of the Special Edition GatorZone Show is June 15 at 5:30 pm

Monday June 13, 2011Sun Sports to Air Special Edition GatorZone Show on Women's Tennis NCAA Championship

Gainesville, Fla.

The first airing of the Special Edition GatorZone Show is June 15 at 5:30 pm

Sun Sports will air a special edition of the GatorZone Show dedicated to the Florida womenís tennis teamís run to the 2011 NCAA Team Championship. The first airing of the 30-minute program will be Wed., June 15 beginning at 5:30 p.m., with several re-runs throughout the summer.


Fans can check or the Multimedia section of for additional replays of the show.


Sophomore Lauren Embree (Marco Island, Fla.) rallied from a 4-0 deficit in the third set, forced a tiebreaker, where she overcame a 2-0 hole and earned an epic 5-7, 6-3, 7-6 (8-6) victory and provided the clinching decision in the 4-3 win against top-seeded Stanford and helped Florida win the 2011 NCAA Championship on May 24 at Taube Tennis Stadium on the campus of Stanford University.


Embree, who was named the NCAA Tournamentís Most Outstanding Performer, is the first to clinch the NCAA team title with a third-set tie-breaker victory in the final match on the courts since the collegiate tennis began the doubles-followed-by-singles format in 2001.


The second-seeded Gators (31-1) earned their fifth national team title, while ending top-seeded Stanfordís (28-1) NCAA-record 184 consecutive home-match win streak and its 47-match overall win streak. Stanford had not lost at home since Feb. 27, 1999 in a 5-4 loss to Cal and had not dropped a decision since a loss at UCLA on Feb. 26, 2010.


The title is the Florida athletics program 26th national team championship and second this season with the menís track and field team winning the NCAA Indoor title.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.