Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline

Friday June 10, 2011UF's Nolan Fontana Named Semifinalist For Brooks Wallace Award

Gainesville, Fla.

Florida sophomore Nolan Fontana (Winter Garden, Fla.) was named as a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Shortstop of the Year Award on Friday by the College Baseball Hall of Fame. The list features 10 of the nation’s finest Division I shortstops.


Fontana has started 63 games this season for the top-ranked Gators (48-16), is hitting .309 and boasts team highs in walks (45), sacrifice flies (eight) and triples (five). He has scored 52 runs, totaled 44 RBI, poked 12 doubles and stolen six bases in 10 attempts. Fontana was a second-team All-SEC recipient and a member of the league’s All-Defensive Team for the second-straight year. 


The winner of the Brooks Wallace Award, presented by Mizuno, will be announced in Lubbock, Texas, on July 3 as part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s Night of Champions.


“This list of shortstops is outstanding,” said Kevin Dunagan, Wallace Award committee co-chair. “Three of them are still playing and several others led their teams to outstanding records and postseason play.”


Among those moving on to play in the Super Regionals this weekend are Fontana, Brandon Loy of Texas and Anthony Gomez of Vanderbilt.


The SEC and ACC each have two players on the semifinalist list. Brad Miller and Georgia Tech’s Jacob Esch represent the ACC.


Joe Panik of St. John’s highlights those who were selected in the recent MLB Draft by being selected as the No. 29 overall pick by the World Champion San Francisco Giants. Miller was drafted as the No. 62 overall pick by the Seattle Mariners.


College Baseball’s Night of Champions not only features the presentation of the Brookd Wallace Award, but also the announcements of the National Pitcher of the Year, John Olerud Two-way Player of the Year, Johnny Bench Award and Dick Howser Trophy. Also included is the 2011 induction of the National College Baseball Hall of Fame class.


Brooks Wallace Award Semifinalists
Adam Bryant / Troy / Sun Belt

Anthony Gomez / Vanderbilt / SEC

Brad Miller / Clemson / ACC

Brandon Loy / Texas / Big 12

David Herbek / James Madison / Colonial

Jacob Esch / Georgia Tech / ACC

Joe Panik / St John’s / Big East

Nolan Fontana / FLORIDA / SEC

Sam Roberts / VMI / Big South

Sean Jamieson / Canisius / Metro-Atlantic


For all of the latest information on Florida baseball, log on to or, for up-to-the-minute updates, follow the team’s Twitter account @GatorZoneBB at


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.