Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline


Monday May 30, 2011Gator Baseball Earns No. 2 National Seed, Hosts Manhattan On Friday

Gainesville, Fla.

The University of Florida baseball team learned on Monday afternoon that it was awarded the second national seed for the 2011 NCAA Baseball Tournament that begins on Friday at McKethan Stadium. Making their 27th Regional appearance and fourth in a row under head coach Kevin O’Sullivan, the top-seeded Gators (45-16) will face fourth-seeded Manhattan (34-17) at 4 p.m. Second-seeded Miami (Fla.) (36-21) will meet third-seeded Jacksonville (36-22) earlier in the day at 12 p.m. The entire Gainesville Regional will be carried on ESPNU.


"We are very excited for the start of Regional play and looking forward to playing in front of our home fans this weekend," O'Sullivan said. "There are several talented teams coming to McKethan Stadium and everyone on our club is eager to face Manhattan on Friday."


The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday night, if necessary. The Gainesville Regional winner will face the winner of the Atlanta Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.


UF is 72-55 (.567) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS six times: 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998, 2005 and 2010. Last season, the Gators defeated Bethune-Cookman (7-3), Oregon State (10-2) and Florida Atlantic (15-0) to sweep the Gainesville Regional before downing Miami (Fla.) twice in the Gainesville Super Regional, 7-2 and 4-3 (10), to advance to Omaha for the first time in five years.


2011 NCAA Gainesville Regional Schedule


Friday, June 3

Game 1: 12 p.m. - No. 2 Miami (Fla.) (36-21) vs. No. 3 Jacksonville (36-22)

Game 2: 4 p.m. - No. 1 FLORIDA (45-16) vs. No. 4 Manhattan (34-17)


Saturday, June 4

Game 3: 12 p.m. - Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2

Game 4: 4 p.m. - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2


Sunday, June 5

Game 5: 12 p.m. - Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4

Game 6: 4 p.m. - Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5


Monday, June 6

Game 7: (if necessary) – 7 p.m. - Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6


The national top eight seeds are Virginia (49-9), Florida (45-16), North Carolina (45-14), South Carolina (45-14), Florida State (42-17), Vanderbilt (47-10), Texas (43-15) and Rice (41-19).


The Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC) and Southeastern Conference (SEC) led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with seven apiece. The Big 12 and Pacific-10 had six each, while the Conference USA had four selected.


Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Virginia has the most Division I wins with 49.


Each of the 16 regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The Regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3, to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight Super Regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).


The 65th Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.



Atlantic Coast       7 [Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia]

Southeastern        7 (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Mississippi State, South Carolina, Vanderbilt)

Big 12                    6 (Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas A&M)

Pacific-10              6 (Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA)

Conference USA 4 (East Carolina, Rice, Southern Miss, UCF)

Atlantic Sun          3 (Belmont, Jacksonville, Stetson)

Big East                 3 [Connecticut, St. John’s (NY), Seton Hall]

Sun Belt                 3 (FIU, Troy, UALR)

Big West                2 (UC Irvine, Cal State Fullerton)

Mountain West     2 (New Mexico, TCU)

America East        1 (Maine)

Atlantic 10             1 (Charlotte)

Big South              1 (Coastal Carolina)

Big Ten                  1 (Illinois)

Colonial                 1 (James Madison)

Horizon                  1 (Wright State)

Independent         1 (Dallas Baptist)

Ivy                           1 (Princeton)

Metro Atlantic       1 (Manhattan)

Mid-American      1 (Kent State)

Mid-Eastern          1 (Bethune-Cookman)

Missouri Valley    1 (Creighton)

Northeast              1 (Scared Heart)

Ohio Valley           1 (Austin Peay)

Patriot                    1 (Navy)

Southern               1 (Georgia Southern)

Southland             1 (Texas State)

Southwestern       1 (Alcorn State)

Summit                  1 (Oral Roberts)

West Coast           1 (San Francisco)

Western Athletic   1 (Fresno State)



Florida                   8 [Bethune-Cookman, UCF, Florida, Florida State FIU, Jacksonville, Miami (FL), Stetson]

California              7 (California, Cal State Fullerton, UC Irvine, Fresno State, San Francisco, Stanford, UCLA)

Texas                     7 (Baylor, Dallas Baptist, Rice, Texas, Texas A&M, TCU, Texas State) 

North Carolina     4 (Charlotte, East Carolina, North Carolina, North Carolina State)

Georgia                 3 (Georgia, Georgia Southern, Georgia Tech)

Mississippi            3 (Alcorn State, Mississippi State, Southern Miss)

Oklahoma             3 (Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oral Roberts) 

South Carolina     3 (Clemson, Coastal Carolina, South Carolina)

Tennessee            3 (Austin Peay, Belmont, Vanderbilt)

Alabama               2 (Alabama, Troy)

Arizona                  2 (Arizona, Arizona State)

Arkansas               2 (Arkansas, UALR)

Connecticut          2 (Connecticut, Sacred Heart)

New Jersey           2 (Princeton, Seton Hall)

New York               2 [Manhattan, St. John’s (NY)]

Ohio                       2 (Kent St., Wright State)

Virginia                  2 (James Madison, Virginia)

Illinois                    1 (Illinois)

Kansas                  1 (Kansas State)

Maine                     1 (Maine)

Maryland               1 (Navy)

Nebraska              1 (Creighton)

New Mexico          1 (New Mexico)

Oregon                  1 (Oregon State)


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • Sun Sports / Fox Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., Sun Sports & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.