Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Tennis Headline

Cercone, Embree, Janowicz, Mather and Will were selected for the NCAA Singles draw (Elizabeth Olivier)

Wednesday May 4, 2011Five Selected for NCAA Women's Tennis Singles Championships, One Doubles Team

Gainesville, Fla.

Cercone, Embree, Janowicz, Mather and Will were selected for the NCAA Singles draw (Elizabeth Olivier)

Five members of the University of Florida women’s tennis team and one Gator doubles pair were selected to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Singles and Doubles Championships, the NCAA Subcommittee announced Wednesday.


The 64-player singles draw and the 32-team doubles draw will be played the Taube (pronounced TOE-bee) Family Tennis Center in Stanford, Calif., on six consecutive days immediately following the NCAA Team Championship that will be held May 20-24.


Earning a spot in the NCAA Singles Championships from Florida was freshman Alex Cercone (Seminole, Fla.), sophomore Lauren Embree (Marco Island, Fla.), freshman Olivia Janowicz (Palm Bay, Fla.), junior Joanna Mather (Duluth, Ga.) and sophomore Allie Will (Boca Raton, Fla.), who is the No. 6 overall seed in the event that gets underway on May 25.


Cercone and Will received a berth into the 32-team doubles draw that begins on May 26 and culminates with the final on May 30. The pairings will be announced on May 24.


The five singles selections is tied for the most  by any school in the 2011 field with Stanford, which plays host to the entire championships.


This is the seventh time in the 30-year history of the NCAA individual Championships when at least five Gators were selected for the singles event, with a program record-six Gators earning a bid in 1997.


Will, the 2011 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year, is coming off a stellar performance at the SEC Tournament, where she was named the event’s Most Valuable Performer and earned a spot on the All-Tournament Team, while helping the Gators (25-1) capture the championship. She has compiled a 29-3 singles record this year, including a 20-1 dual match mark playing the number one and two positions in the lineup.


Embree is undefeated in dual match singles and doubles play this year, posting a 20-0 record in both, with a 9-0 singles record in SEC action and a 10-0 spot in league doubles play. Embree missed the majority of the fall season, when she was rehabilitating her left wrist (ruptured tendon) that required two surgeries (in June 2010 and in late October 2010).


Mather is 27-7 overall in singles and 13-2 in dual matches in addition to compiling a doubles record of 26-7, 19-2 in dual matches with a 7-0 record in clinching doubles-point matches. She was named the SEC Player of the Week on Feb. 23 after she helped the Gators reach the final of the ITA National Team Indoor Championships.


Cercone was a three-time SEC Freshman of the Week honoree (March 8, 29 and April 5) and is tied with a team-best 32 singles wins. On the singles court, the rookie is 32-10 overall, with an 18-3 mark in team competition, 10-1 in SEC matches. In doubles, Cercone posted a 25-6 record, with a 19-1 dual match ledger, winning all seven she played during the SEC regular season.


Janowicz earned a spot on the SEC All-Tournament Team as the only Gator to finish and win all three matches, while winning a pair on the doubles court en route to helping Florida capture the league’s postseason title. She was honored as the SEC Freshman of the Week on Feb. 16 and holds a 32-7 overall singles record, with a 19-3 mark in dual matches, as well as an 18-7 doubles record, including a 13-4 spot in dual match competition.


On the doubles court, Cercone and Will are 11-0 this season, including an 8-0 record against nationally ranked opponents that helped the tandem earn the No. 2 overall seed in the doubles draw.


2011 NCAA Singles Selections, by School (top-8 seeds noted)

Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama

Jacqueline Cako, Arizona State

Kelcy McKenna, Arizona State

Anouk Tigu, Arkansas

Diana Nakic, Baylor

Nina Secerbegovic, Baylor

Sona Novakova, Baylor

(1) Jana Juricova, California

Mari Andersson, California

Tayler Davis, California

Josipa Bek, Clemson

Keri Wong, Clemson

Nadine Fahoum, Duke

Reka Zsilinszka, Duke

Liset Brito, FIU

Alex Cercone, Florida

Lauren Embree, Florida

Olivia Janowicz, Florida

Joanna Mather, Florida

(6) Allie Will, Florida

Katie Rybakova, Florida State

Noemie Scharle, Florida State

Marianne Jodoin, Fresno State

Monica Arguello, Furman

Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia

Jillian O'Neill, Georgia Tech

Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State

Michaela Kissell, Marshall

Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Maryland

Anna Bartenstein, Miami (Florida)

(7) Biana Eichkorn, Miami (Florida)

(8) Denise Muresan, Michigan

Zoe De Bruycker, North Carolina

Sanaa Bhambri, North Carolina State

Maria Mosolova, Northwestern

(5) Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame

Shannon Mathews, Notre Dame

Kristi Boxx, Ole Miss

Connie Hsu, Pennsylvania

Tatsiana Kapshai, Sacramento State

Marta Lesniak, SMU

Anya Morgina, South Carolina

Irene Rehberger, South Florida

Danielle Lao, Southern California

(2) Maria Sanchez, Southern California

Alexandra Poorta, St. Mary's (California)

(3) Hilary Barte, Stanford

Kristie Ahn, Stanford

Mallory Burdette, Stanford

Nicole Gibbs, Stanford

Stacey Tan, Stanford

Brynn Boren, Tennessee

Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee

Aeriel Ellis, Texas

Nazari Urbina, Texas A&M

McCall Jones, UCLA

Noelle Hickey, UCLA

Anastasia Putilina, Utah

Emily Fraser, Virginia

Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia

Martina Pavelec, Wake Forest

(4) Denise Dy, Washington

Venise Chan, Washington

Jeltje Loomans, William and Mary



2011 NCAA Doubles Selections, List by School (top-4 seeds noted)

Alexa Guarachi / Courtney McLane, Alabama

Kelcy McKenna / Micaela Hein, Arizona State

Anouk Tigu / Claudine Paulson, Arkansas

Sona Novakova / Nina Secerbegovic, Baylor

(1) Mari Andersson / Jana Juricova, California

Keri Wong / Josipa Bek, Clemson

Ellah Nze / Nadine Fahoum, Duke

(2) Alex Cercone / Allie Will, Florida

Chelsey Gullickson / Kate Fuller, Georgia

Sonja Molnar / Jessica Young, Iowa

Michaela Kissell / Dominica Zaprazna, Marshall

Jordaan Sanford / Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Maryland

Bianca Eichkorn / Anna Bartenstein, Miami(Florida)

Brooke Bolender / Denise Muresan, Michigan

Shinann Featherston / Lauren McHale, North Carolina

Sandhya Nagaraj / Sanaa Bhambri, North Carolina St

Linda Abu Mushrefova / Nida Hamilton, Northwestern

Kristy Frilling / Shannon Mathews, Notre Dame

(3) Kaitlyn Christian / Maria Sanchez, Southern California

Alison Ramos / Valeria Pulido, Southern California

Kristie Ahn / Nicole Gibbs, Stanford

(4) Hilary Barte / Mallory Burdette, Stanford

Rosalia Alda / Millie Nichols, Tennessee

Brynn Boren / Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee

Courtney Dolehide / Andrea Remynse, UCLA

Noelle Hickey / McCall Jones, UCLA

Alex Leatu / Rachael Dillon, Vanderbilt

Alex Bara / Kateryna Yergina, VCU

Emily Fraser / Hana Tomlijanovic, Virginia

Lindsey Hardenbergh / Erin Vierra, Virginia

Kathryn Talbert / Kayla Duncan, Wake Forest

Venise Chan / Denise Dy, Washington


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.