Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Thursday December 2, 2010Beemer Nominated for Rudy Award

Gainesville, Fla.

University of Florida redshirt senior Gary Beemer (Valrico, Fla.) has been nominated for the Rudy Award, announced on Thursday by the Rudy Foundation.


A record 55 of the 120 Division I football programs submitted a nomination and every Division I conference was represented for the Award, which honors student-athletes who demonstrate exemplary character, courage, contribution and commitment as members of their collegiate football teams.


Beemer is a defensive lineman who enrolled at Florida in the August of 2006 and walked on to the football team in March of 2008.† He has earned "Scout Team Player of the Week" honors on two different occasions for his dedication to the team and hard work in practice.†


He has had such a positive impact on the team that on Senior Day, head coach Urban Meyer put him in the game to score a touchdown versus Appalachian State to reward him for his efforts. Through his hard work, he has earned a job as a strength coach at Florida as he pursues a graduate degree in Fitness and Wellness.


Each finalist will be presented with a classic finalist award and have an academic scholarship made in his name to the general scholarship fund of his college or university, as well as have travel expenses paid to the event. An overall winner will be chosen and presented with the top scholarship and bronze RUDY AWARD trophy.


The 2010 Award Selection Committee includes football coaches Barry Alvarez, David Bailiff, Gary Barnett, Fisher DeBerry, Dennis Franchione, June Jones, Chuck Knox, Gary Patterson, Buddy Pough, Jackie Sherrill and Dick Tomey, as well as former Washington Redskinsí Quarterback and Super Bowl MVP Doug Williams.† Prominent businessman Peter Murphy, Jr., again serves as Chairman.† Fan votes for the RUDY AWARD also will contribute to the Selection Process.† Finalists will be announced December 14 and listed on


Drew Combs (TCU), Terry Clayton (Kentucky) and LeVon Morefield (Akron) won the Rudy Award in 2007, 2008 and 2009, respectively.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.