Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline

Friday November 12, 2010Chas Henry Selected as 2010 Ray Guy Award Semifinalist for Third-Consecutive Year

Gainesville, Fla.


University of Florida senior punter Chas Henry (Dallas, Ga.) is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Ray Guy Award, as announced by the Augusta Sports Council on Friday. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter. This marks the third-consecutive year Henry has been a semifinalist for the award.  


Henry has punted 33 times for 1,590 yards (48.18 average) through nine games in 2010. Twelve of his punts have landed inside the 20-yard line and only 10 have been returned.


Henry has also taken over kicking duties for the Gators and was named the SEC Co-Special Teams Player of the Week for his performance in Florida’s 34-31 overtime win against Georgia after he kicked the team’s winning field goal.


The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line, and percentage of punts not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media, and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be named on Monday, Nov. 22. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.


The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN.  The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with the recipients of Disney’s Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.  Fans can visit the show’s dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.  



2010 Ray Guy Award Pre-season Watch List

Bryan Anger (Jr) – California

Drew Butler (Jr) – Georgia (2009 winner)

Ryan Donahue (Sr) – Iowa (2009 Semi-finalist)

Reid Forrest (Sr) – Washington State

CHAS HENRY (SR) – FLORIDA (2009 Finalist)

Dan Hutchins (Sr) – Pittsburgh

Kyle Martens (Jr) – Rice

Anthony Santella (Sr) – Illinois

Quinn Sharp (So) – Oklahoma State

Dawson Zimmerman (Jr) – Clemson



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.