Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Cross Country Headline


Friday October 29, 20102010 SEC Cross Country Championships Await Florida Monday

Columbia, S.C.

Watch cross country coach Todd Morgan preview the 2010 SEC Championships HERE


The University of Florida menís and womenís cross country teams will set off Saturday for the 2010 SEC Cross Country Championships, this year hosted by the University of South Carolina Monday, Nov. 1, at the Hilton Field on Fort Jackson in Columbia.


For the third time in history, the Gamecocks are hosting the league cross country championships after hosting in 1997 and also volunteering to host in 2005 to relieve LSU of league host following Hurricane Katrina. Admission is free and open to the public, however proper photo identification, vehicle insurance and registration are required for entry on to the base. The womenís 6K race is slated for a 10 a.m. (ET) start, while the menís 8K will begin at 11 a.m. (ET). The awards ceremony is set for Noon (ET). 


FLORIDA WOMEN SEC PREVIEW NOTABLES: Setting out to defend their 2009 SEC title

Floridaís women will be aiming to defend their SEC title after winning the 2009 title, its first in 12 years...Florida will be looking for back-to-back SEC titles on the women's side for the second time in school history, the first being the 1996 and 1997 seasons...Florida's women have won four conference titles (1984, 1996, 1997, 2009)...At last year's meet, Florida's Rebecca Lowe won the women's race and was named the SEC Female Athlete of the Year...Lowe will be competing in her first race of the season at the 2010 SEC Championships in Columbia, S.C...Additionally, UF assistant track and cross country coach Todd Morgan was named the 2009 SEC Women's Coach of the Year, the first league accolade of his career...Florida placed five women on the All-SEC team last season...The Gators return two 2009 All-Americans, Charlotte Browning and Lowe this year...Browning enters the SEC meet as UF's leader thus far this season after recording Florida's top finish at the Pre-NCAA meet, and is coming off a stellar track season in which she was the 2010 NCAA Indoor Champion in the mile and the 2010 Outdoor Champion in the 1,500m...Browning additionally holds UFís fastest 6K time this season, recorded at the Wisconsin adidas Invitational, in a time of 20:13.4ÖFive of Floridaís 10 projected runners are either freshmen or sophomoresÖUF has four all-time SEC Champions (Shelly Steely, 1984; Tricia Clifford, 1986; Becki Wells, 1995 and 1996; and Rebecca Lowe, 2009)  


Projected UF Womenís Lineup:

1.     Charlotte Browning, Sr., Chichester, England

2.     Callie Cooper, So., St. Augustine, Fla.

3.     Ali Crabb, Sr., St. Petersburg, Fla.

4.     Sarah Davis, Fr., Jacksonville, Fla.

5.     Shelby Hayes, Fr., Winter Park, Fla.

6.     Genevieve LaCaze, Jr., Daisy Hill, Australia

7.     Rebecca Lowe, Jr., Vaucluse, Australia

8.     Cory McGee, Fr., Pass Christian, Miss.

9.     Mandy Perkins, So., Ormond Beach, Fla.

10.   Stephanie Strasser, Fr., Fernandina Beach, Fla.


FLORIDA MEN SEC PREVIEW NOTABLES: Looking to make an impression

The Gator menís squad will be looking to improve upon its fourth-place team finish at last yearís SEC Championships...Floridaís men have won three all-time team SEC titles (1955, 1986 and 1987)...UF boasts three all-time SEC individual Champions and has not had an individual champion since 1983 (Don Gagon, 1955; Frank Lagotic, 1967; Keith Brantly, 1983)...Florida returns All-South Region senior Anthony Morales, who finished 15th at last year's SEC meet...UF will be looking to finish in the top five for the 14th consecutive year and in the top three for the ninth consecutive season...Newcomer Dumisane Hlaselo, a South Africa native, has proven to be one of UF's toughest competitors through the first portion of the season...Hlaselo turned in the Gators' top performance at the Pre-NCAA Invitational (15th) and holds the top 8K time for the men this season (23:45.6), which he achieved at the Wisconsin adidas Invitational...After starting the season unranked, the Florida men have worked their way to No. 26 in the USTFCCCA Coaches' Poll.


Projected UF Menís Lineup:

1.     Michael Anderson, Jr., Williston, Fla.

2.     Dumisane Hlaselo, Jr., South Africa

3.     Josh Izewski, Jr., Doylestown, Pa.

4.     Danny Manco, So., Miami, Fla.

5.     Matt Mizereck, Fr., Tallahassee, Fla.

6.     Anthony Morales, Sr., Palm Coast, Fla.

7.     Mark Parrish, Fr., Tampa, Fla.

8.     Alex Schanen, So., Jacksonville Beach, Fla.

9.     James Uthmeier, Sr., Destin, Fla.

10.   Derek Wehunt, So., Odessa, Fla.




Twelve womenís teams and 11 menís teams will compete for the conference title.  The Alabama Crimson Tide are the menís defending champions while the Florida Gators are the defending womenís champions.   


On the menís side, No. 27 Alabama is the defending champion however, the Arkansas Razorbacks are ranked No. 10 and are the highest ranked SEC team in the most recent USTFCCCA poll.  The Florida Gators are ranked No. 26 as the third team in the SEC to make the rankings.  Indvidually, returning two-time champion, Barnabas Kirui, will try to capture back-to-back titles, as he leads the Ole Miss Rebels.  Should Kirui win, he would become only the fourth runner to earn three titles in league history.   


In the womenís division, there are no SEC womenís teams ranked in the top 30, however Vanderbilt and Arkansas both received votes in the latest USTFCCCA poll.  Vanderbilt is second in the South Region rankings while Arkansas is second in the South Central rankings.  Auburnís Holly Knight enters the weekend with the fastest 6K time in the league, 16:50.24, which she recorded at the Chile Pepper Festival on Oct. 16.  Georgiaís Kristie Krueger was the SECís top finisher at the Pre-NCAA meet in Terre Haute, Ind. earlier this month and she recorded a time of 20:30.10.  Both women are expected to be contenders for the individual title.


†Tennessee holds the most titles on the menís side with 25, followed by Arkansas with 17.  On the womenís side, Arkansas leads the league with 13, followed by Tennessee with five.     


Fanís can visit 2010 SEC Cross Country Championship Central by visiting HERE. For a complete recap and results following the 2010 SEC Championships, visit †at approximately 1 p.m. Mon, Nov. 1.





Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.