Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Baseball Headline


Monday May 31, 2010Baseball Earns No. 3 National Seed, Hosts Bethune-Cookman On Friday

Gainesville, Fla.

The University of Florida baseball team learned on Monday afternoon that it was awarded the third national seed for the 2010 NCAA Baseball Tournament that begins on Friday at McKethan Stadium. Making their 26th Regional appearance, the top-seeded Gators (42-15) will face fourth-seeded Bethune-Cookman (35-20) at 7 p.m. Second-seeded Florida Atlantic (35-22) will meet third-seeded Oregon State (31-22) earlier in the day at 1 p.m.

"We are very excited for the start of Regional play," third-year head coach Kevin O'Sullivan said. "Playing at home should be a good opportunity for our fans to come and support us. It will be a challenging field and we are looking forward to facing a talented Bethune-Cookman team on Friday."

Video: Head Coach Kevin O'Sullivan NCAA Reaction 5-31-10

The Regional continues through Sunday, with a final game to be played Monday night, if necessary. The Gainesville Regional winner will face the winner of the Coral Gables Regional in a Super Regional series next weekend. The eight Super Regional winners advance to the College World Series in Omaha, Neb.

UF is 67-53 (.558) all-time in NCAA Tournament action and has reached the CWS five times: 1988, 1991, 1996, 1998 and 2005. The Gators are 4-0 against Bethune-Cookman in NCAA play, most recently using a ninth-inning rally last May to edge the Wildcats, 8-7. Florida has not encountered Florida Atlantic in the postseason since splitting a pair of meetings with the Owls at the 2003 NCAA Coral Gables Regional. The Gators have never faced Oregon State on the diamond and have not encountered any teams from the Pac-10 since playing Arizona State twice at the 2005 NCAA College World Series.

2010 NCAA Gainesville Regional Schedule
Friday, June 4
Game 1 1:00 p.m. No. 2 Florida Atlantic (35-22) vs. No. 3 Oregon State (31-22)
Game 2 7:00 p.m. No. 1 FLORIDA (42-15) vs. No. 4 Bethune-Cookman (35-20)
Saturday, June 5
Game 3 1:00 p.m. Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2
Game 4 7:00 p.m. Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2
Sunday, June 6
Game 5 1:00 p.m. Winner Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4
Game 6 7:00 p.m. Winner Game 4 vs. Winner Game 5
Monday, June 7
Game 7 (if necessary) 7:00 p.m. Winner Game 6 vs. Loser Game 6

The national top eight seeds are Arizona State (47-8), Texas (46-11), the Gators, Coastal Carolina (51-7), Virginia (47-11), UCLA (43-13), Louisville (48-12) and Georgia Tech (45-13).

The ACC, Pac-10 and the SEC led all conferences in the number of teams in the championship field with eight apiece. The marks for the ACC and the Pac-10 were conference all-time highs. The Big 12 had five and the Big East and Sun Belt had three teams.

Twenty-nine of the 64 teams were not in the field last year. Mercer, the Atlantic Sun Conference Tournament champion, is making the championship for the first time. New Mexico last was in the field in 1962 and Oregon is in the field for the first time since 1964, and only two years after reinstating the baseball program.

Miami (Fla.) is in the field for the 38th-consecutive year, extending its own record. Florida State is making its 33rd-straight appearance, second all-time. Other long consecutive streaks: Cal State Fullerton (19), Rice (16), Oral Roberts (13) and Texas (12).

Of the 292 championship eligible Division I institutions that sponsor baseball, Coastal Carolina has the most Division I wins with 51.

Each of the 16 NCAA Regionals features four teams, playing a double-elimination format. The Regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 4, to Monday, June 7 (if necessary). Selection of the eight Super Regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 7, at approximately 11 p.m. The best two-of-three Super Regionals will be played from Friday, June 11, to Monday, June 14. The 64th College World Series begins play Saturday, June 19, at Rosenblatt Stadium in Omaha, Neb.

Atlantic Coast 8 Clemson, Florida State, Georgia Tech, Miami (FL), North Carolina, N.C State, Virginia, Virginia Tech
Pacific-10 8 Arizona, Arizona State, California, Oregon, Oregon State, Stanford, UCLA, Washington State
Southeastern 8 Alabama, Arkansas, Auburn, Florida, LSU, Ole Miss, South Carolina, Vanderbilt
Big 12 5 Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Texas, Texas A&M
Big East 3 Connecticut, Louisville, St. John's (NY)
Southern 3 Citadel, College of Charleston, Elon
Sun Belt 3 Florida Atlantic, FIU, La.-Lafayette
Big West 2 UC Irvine, Cal State Fullerton
Conf. USA 2 Rice, Southern Miss
Moun. West 2 New Mexico, TCU
America East 1 Stony Brook
Atlantic Sun 1 Mercer
Atlantic 10 1 Saint Louis
Big South 1 Coastal Carolina
Big Ten 1 Minnesota
Colonial 1 VCU
Horizon 1 Milwaukee
Ivy 1 Dartmouth
Metro Atlantic 1 Rider
Mid-American 1 Kent State
Mid-Eastern 1 Bethune-Cookman
Missouri Valley 1 Illinois State
Northeast 1 Central Connecticut State
Ohio Valley 1 Jacksonville State
Patriot 1 Bucknell
Summit 1 Oral Roberts
Southland 1 Lamar
Southwestern 1 Grambling
West Coast 1 San Diego
WAC 1 Hawaii

California 6 California, UC Irvine, Cal State Fullerton, San Diego, Stanford, UCLA
Florida 6 Bethune-Cookman, Florida, Florida Atlantic, FIU, Florida State, Miami (FL)
Texas 6 Baylor, Lamar, Rice, TCU, Texas, Texas A&M
South Carolina 5 Citadel, Clemson, Coastal Carolina, College of Charleston, South Carolina
Alabama 3 Alabama, Auburn, Jacksonville State
Louisiana 3 Grambling, LSU, La.-Lafayette
North Carolina 3 Elon, North Carolina, N.C. State
Virginia 3 Virginia, VCU, Virginia Tech
Arizona 2 Arizona, Arizona State
Connecticut 2 Central Connecticut State, Connecticut
Georgia 2 Georgia Tech, Mercer
Mississippi 2 Mississippi, Southern Miss
New York 2 St. John's (NY), Stony Brook]
Oklahoma 2 Oklahoma, Oral Roberts
Oregon 2 Oregon, Oregon State
Arkansas 1 Arkansas
Hawaii 1 Hawaii
Illinois 1 Illinois State
Kansas 1 Kansas State
Kentucky 1 Louisville
Minnesota 1 Minnesota
Missouri 1 Saint Louis
New Hamp. 1 Dartmouth
New Jersey 1 Rider
New Mexico 1 New Mexico
Ohio 1 Kent State
Pennsylvania 1 Bucknell
Tennessee 1 Vanderbilt
Washington 1 Washington State
Wisconsin 1 Milwaukee
Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.