Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Golf Headline


Friday November 20, 2009Deb Richard to Receive 2010 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award

Gainesville, Fla.

Former University of Florida golfer Deb Richard (rih-SHARD) is one of six former NCAA student-athletes named a recipient of the 2010 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award. She is the fourth Florida student-athlete to receive this honor. Previous Florida recipients include Theresa Andrews (2008/swimming), Ann Woods Smith (2007/gymnastics) and Jack Youngblood (1996/football).

The award recognizes former student-athletes who completed successful collegiate careers in various sports and have excelled in their chosen professions. The Silver Anniversary Award acknowledges the former student-athletes on their 25th anniversary of completing their athletics eligibility. Recipients were chosen by the NCAA Honors Committee, which is composed of athletics administrators and nationally distinguished citizens who also were former student-athletes.

The complete list of 2010 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award winners is listed below. The six will be presented their awards at the 45th annual NCAA Honors Celebration on Friday, Jan. 15, during the annual NCAA Convention in Atlanta, Ga.

2010 NCAA Silver Anniversary Award Recipients

· Deb Richard, University of Florida (Golf)

· Gregg Carr, Auburn (Football)

· Jack Del Rio, Southern California (Football and Baseball)

Deb Richard

▪ University of Florida

▪ Golf

▪ Major: Advertising

▪ Foundation president and chairperson


A two-time All-American, Richard led Florida to its first NCAA women’s golf national championship in 1985. She finished the 1985 NCAA Championships in a three-way tie for second in the individual race. Richard earned that season’s Honda Broderick Award as the nation’s top female collegiate golfer. She leads the 29-year history of the Southeastern Conference Women’s Golf Championships with her three medalist honors. Richard was the inaugural recipient of the SEC Women’s Golfer of the Year honor in 1985. She also won the 1984 U.S. Women’s Amateur title. In 1995, she was inducted into the Florida Athletic Hall of Fame.


Richard’s LPGA career spanned from 1986 to 2005. She accumulated more than $2.75 million in career earnings. A six-time LPGA Tour winner, Richard recorded 71 top-10 finishes. She served as the LPGA Senior Vice-President of Golf in 2006. Richard is now is working with the leadership program she created – Soaring with Eagles Foundation. The foundation focuses on high school seniors and college freshmen. The launch for the foundation’s national programming is set for 2010.


In 1995, she established the Deb Richard Foundation to award college scholarships to physically challenged kids.  To date, the scholarship program has awarded 13 five-year grants of $25,000 and has been endowed at the University of Florida. She started a pro-am for the American Juvenile Arthritis Foundation (1992-1994). She was honored with the Golf Digest Founders Cup (1994), Sports Illustrated for Kids Good Sports Award and the Samaritan Award from the Standard Register Company in 1996. Richard was given UF’s Distinguished Alumnus Award in 2004 and was part of the SEC’s 75th Anniversary “Story of Character” program in 2007-08.

· Doug Flutie, Boston College (Football)

· Jackie Joyner-Kersee, UCLA (Outdoor Track & Basketball)

· Maureen O’Toole-Purcell, Hawaii (Swimming & Water Polo)

Bio sketches on all recipients can be found here.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.