Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Gators Headline


Friday April 17, 2009Eight 2009 Honorees Inducted Into UF Athletic Hall of Fame

Gainesville, Fla.

Seven former letterwinners and one former University Athletics Association employee were inducted into the University of Florida Athletic Hall of Fame at the annual Hall of Fame Banquet at the Holloway Touchdown Terrace Friday night.


The eight 2009 honorees were Reidel Anthony (football), Erin Baxter McCorkle (soccer), Mike Cotton (track & field), Ike Hilliard (football), Bill Holloway (ticket manager), Tom Kelly (football), Cheryl Morley Pontious (women’s golf) and Murriel Page (women’s basketball).


The Ben Hill Griffin Awards were also presented at the banquet. The male recipient was junior quarterback Tim Tebow and the female recipient was senior softball player Stacey Nelson. The award goes to the top UF athlete over a calendar year, with Tebow and Nelson being honored for their accomplishments.


The following is a brief bio sketch of each member of the 2009 Hall of Fame Class:


Reidel Anthony was a member of the 1996 National Championship team and of the 1994, 1995 and 1996 SEC Championship teams. He was named a first-team All-American and All-SEC in 1996. He was also a Biletnikoff finalist the same year. In 1997, he was selected in the first round of the 1997 NFL Draft by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.


Erin (Baxter) McCorkle was a co-captain of the 1998 National Championship team. She earned All-American honors in 1996, 1997 and 1998. She was also the 1998 SEC Tournament MVP. She garnered All-SEC honors from 1996-98 and was named 1997 SEC Player of the Year. The 1998 Tracy Caulkins award winner as UF’s top graduating female student-athlete, she also was the GTE Academic All-American of the 1998-99 academic year.


Mike Cotton was the 1973 National Pole Vault champion, as well as the SEC champion in 1971 and 1973. He earned All-American recognition in 1973 and he was an All-SEC selection in 1971, 1972 and 1973. He held the UF pole vault record of 17’6” for 14 years and was a member of the 1976 USA National Team.


Ike Hilliard was also a member of the 1996 National Championship team and of the 1994, 1995 and 1996 SEC Championship teams. He earned first-team All-American and All-SEC status in 1996. He was the first wide receiver drafted in the 1997 NFL Draft and currently plays for Tampa Bay.


Bill Holloway served as the Assistant Athletics Director - Ticket Operations for the University Athletic Association for over 25 years. He was well-known and respected for his customer service efforts while he handled the many duties of the Gator Ticket Office, which included priority ticket and seating arrangements for Boosters, alumni, faculty and staff, students and the general public.


Tom Kelley was named to the 1960 All-SEC Sophomore team and was a Blue Key Recipient. He was the 2006-07 F Club President and member of the UF Hall of Fame. He is well-known as a principal engineer consultant to government entities, including the cities of Orlando, Winter Park, Ocoee, Windermere and Orange County. He served on the Gator Boosters’ board in 2005-06.


Cheryl (Morley) Pontious was a member of the 1986 National Championship team and was the 1988 SEC medalist. She is the only four-time All-American in the program’s history. She was also on the 1986 and 1987 SEC Championship teams and earned All-SEC status in 1987, 88 and 89. Pontious played on the Futures Tour for two years and was inducted in the National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) Hall of Fame in 2000. She also played two years in the U.S. Women’s Open.


Murriel Page become the second Gator to earn First-Team All-America honors, earning recognition in 1998 when she was named first team All-American by Kodak, Women's Basketball Journal, Women's Basketball News Service, The Sporting News and U.S. Basketball Writers Association & second team by Associated Press. She was a two-time first team All-Southeastern Conference selection and was one of three players who was a unanimous selection on the 1998 squad, the same season she was a finalist for the Naismith Player of the Year and the 1998 Wade Trophy.






Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.