Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Swimming & Diving Headline


Sunday March 15, 2009Salamone & Dodson Qualify for NCAA Championship Meet

Knoxville, Tenn.

Following the three-day Zone B Diving Championships in Knoxville, Tenn., at the Allan Jones Aquatics Center, two Gators in junior Kara Salamone (Hollywood, Fla.) and sophomore Monica Dodson (Franklin, Ind.) qualified for the 2009 Womenís NCAA Championship meet, which is set to begin March 19 in College Station, Texas.


Salamone earned her bid to the NCAA meet for her fourth-place finish in the three-meter springboard finals (640.05), after finishing preliminaries in second place with a score of 322.20. Dodsonís qualification came in the platform event, where she finished second overall with a score of 545.45. Both Dodson and Salamone will be eligible to compete in the one-meter, three-meter and platform events and the NCAA meet.


For the 2009 NCAA Championship meet, 35 diving spots were available for the men's championships, and 41 for the women from the four regional zones, A, B, C and D. Each diver earned his or her bid based on the respective finishes in the three diving events. Additionally, the winner of each of the three events received an automatic bid to the 2009 NCAA Meet.


Salamone additionally finished fifth in the one-meter competition (558.30), while Dodson came in 13th (513.20). Dodson rallied for a ninth-place finish in finals of the three-meter, while Salamone secured seventh (490.25) on the platform.


In menís diving action, no Gators solidified NCAA qualification, but several returned to finals at the Zone Diving showdown in Knoxville. Freshman Colin Bell (Coral Springs, Fla.) represented UF in the platform finale Sunday with a 17th-place finish (483.65), while Bellís freshman colleague Anthony Lewark (Davie, Fla.) placed 12th with a score of 591.65 on the one-meter springboard.


For complete results, including preliminary finishes, click here.



2009 NCAA Zone B Diving Championships

NCAA Championships Womenís Qualifiers


1.      P      Kristin Davies            N.C. State

2.   3m      Abby Johnston           Duke

3.   1m      Jenna Dreyer              Miami

4.   3m      Carrie Dragland          Alabama

5.   1m      Taryn Zack                 South Carolina

6.   1m      Brittany Viola             Miami

7.       P      Monica Dodson            Florida

8.    3m      Kara Salamone           Florida

9.   3m      Hannah Moore            Georgia

10.    P      Gabrielle Trudeau      Tennessee


Alternate: Jessica Lyden, Duke


** Qualified divers will be eligible to compete in all events they competed in at the Zone B Championships



2009 NCAA Zone B Diving Championships

NCAA Championships Menís Qualifiers


1.        P     Aaron Felshner           Alabama

2.     1m    Reuben Ross              Miami

3.     3m    Kelly Marx                  Auburn

4.     1m    Terry Horner               Florida State

5.       P     Daniel Frebel              Florida State

6.     3m     Ryan Helms                Tennessee

7.    3m     Mike McDonald          Virginia Tech

8.        P     Daniel Mazzafero        Auburn

9.    1m      Niko Dalman               LSU

10. 1m      Brent Sterling             Tennessee

11.    P       David Solarz               UNC


Alternate: Austin Hampton, NC State


** Qualified divers will be eligible to compete in all events they competed in at the Zone B Championships




Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.