Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Football Headline


Wednesday June 25, 2008Tebow Named SEC Male Athlete of the Year

Gainesville, FL

University of Florida quarterback Tim Tebow (Jacksonville, Fla.) was named the recipient of the 2007-08 Roy F. Kramer Southeastern Conference Male Athlete of the Year, as voted on by the league's athletics directors, Commissioner Mike Slive announced on Wednesday.


Tebow became the third Gator to receive the honor, joining Danny Wuerffel (1996 and 1997) and Ryan Lochte (2005). Tennessee's Candace Parker was named the Female Athlete of the Year.


"The SEC is very proud to honor Tim and Candace, as they are outstanding examples of what a student-athlete can accomplish, both on and off the field of competition,” said Commissioner Slive.  “Their hard work and dedication to excellence have made them fine representatives of their universities and this conference.  We congratulate them and wish them the best in their future endeavors.”


In 2007, Tebow enjoyed a record-breaking year in which he became the first sophomore ever to win the Heisman Trophy, Davey O'Brien Award, the Maxwell Trophy and the Sullivan Award. He also became the first player in college football history to pass and rush for 20-or-more touchdowns in a season. He set the SEC mark for rushing touchdowns with 23, which was also the highest total by any quarterback in NCAA history. The Jacksonville native also set a new standard in single-season touchdown accountability in the SEC, totaling 55 (32 passing, 23 rushing).


Tebow was a standout in the classroom as well, earning a spot on the ESPN The Magazine’s Academic All-American first-team squad. He became just the fourth sophomore student-athlete in UF history to receive such a distinction. Tebow finished his first full season as a starter by leading the SEC in passing efficiency (172.46), total offense (321.6) and total scoring, averaging 10.6 points per game.


The other male nominees were: Michael Thompson, Alabama (golf); Darren McFadden, Arkansas (football); Cesar Cielo, Auburn (swimming); Gordon Beckham, Georgia (baseball); Rashaud Scott, Kentucky (track & field); Glenn Dorsey, LSU (football); Erling Tveit, Ole Miss (tennis); Jamil Hubbard, Mississippi State (track & field); Jason Richardson, South Carolina (track & field); Chris Lofton, Tennessee (basketball); Shan Foster, Vanderbilt (basketball).


The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.


Past recipients of the SEC Athlete of the Year Award include: 2007 - David Price, Vanderbilt (baseball) and Monica Abbott, Tennessee (softball); 2006 - Xavier Carter, LSU (track & field) and Seimone Augustus, LSU (basketball); 2005 - Ryan Lochte, Florida (swimming) and Kirsty Coventry, Auburn (swimming); 2004 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and Jeana Rice, Alabama (gymnastics); 2003 - Alistair Cragg, Arkansas (cross country/track) and LaToya Thomas, Mississippi State (basketball); 2002 - Walter Lewis, LSU (track & field) and Andree’ Pickens, Alabama (gymnastics); 2001 - Matias Boeker, Georgia (tennis) and Amy Yoder Begley, Arkansas (cross country/track); 2000 - Kip Bouknight , South Carolina (baseball) and Kristy Kowal, Georgia (swimming); 1999 - Tim Couch, Kentucky (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1998 - Peyton Manning, Tennessee (football) and Chamique Holdsclaw, Tennessee (basketball); 1997 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Trinity Johnson, South Carolina (softball); 1996 - Danny Wuerffel, Florida (football) and Saudia Roundtree, Georgia (basketball); 1995 - Todd Helton, Tennessee (baseball) and Jenny Hansen, Kentucky (gymnastics); 1994 - Corliss Williamson, Arkansas (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1993 - Jamal Mashburn, Kentucky (basketball) and Nicole Haislett, Florida (swimming); 1992 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Vicki Goetze, Georgia (golf); 1991 - Shaquille O'Neal, LSU (basketball) and Daedra Charles, Tennessee (basketball); 1990 - Alec Kessler, Georgia (basketball) and Dee Foster, Alabama (gymnastics); 1989 - Derrick Thomas, Alabama (football) and Bridgette Gordon, Tennessee (basketball); 1988 - Will Perdue, Vanderbilt   (basketball) and Dara Torres, Florida (swimming); 1987 - Cornelius Bennett, Alabama (football) and Lillie Leatherwood-King, Alabama (track and field); 1986 - Bo Jackson, Auburn (football) and Jennifer Gillom, Ole Miss (basketball); 1985 - Will Clark, Mississippi State (baseball) and Penney Hauschild, Alabama (gymnastics); 1984 - Terry Hoage, Georgia (football) and Tracy Caulkins, Florida (swimming); 1983 - Herschel Walker, Georgia (football/track and field); 1982 - Buck Belue, Georgia (football/baseball); 1981 - Rowdy Gaines, Auburn (swimming); 1980 - Kyle Macy, Kentucky (basketball); 1979 - Reggie King, Alabama (basketball); 1978 - Jack Givens, Kentucky (basketball); 1977 - Larry Seivers, Tennessee (football); and 1976 - Harvey Glance, Auburn (track and field).



 - UF -









Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.