Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Softball Headline


Wednesday June 4, 2008Nelson and Enea Named to WCWS All-Tournament Team

Oklahoma City, OK

University of Florida junior pitcher Stacey Nelson (Los Alamitos, Calif.) and sophomore left fielder Francesca Enea (Woodland Hills, Calif.) were named to the Women's College World Series All-Tournament team, the NCAA announced following last night's championship game in Oklahoma City.


Nelson finished WCWS play with a 2-2 record, including two shut outs, and a 0.98 ERA. She pitched 35.2 innings, giving up only five runs on 24 hits. Only four of the 24 hits were for extra bases. She struck out 26 batters, while only walking 12. Each of Nelson's losses were by only one run (3-2 to Louisiana-Lafayette and 1-0 to Texas A&M) and each in extra innings. Her two wins were shut outs, 2-0 victories over Virginia Tech and perennial WCWS participant UCLA.


Enea hit .316 in the series while leading the team with four runs scored and four RBI. She hit two home runs in Florida's 6-1 win over Texas A&M. Enea's six hits were second-most of any player in the WCWS, as the Gators posted the best team batting average in the tournament. Enea led all players in the WCWS with 12 total bases and was only of only two players to hit two home runs over the course of the tournament. In addition to her play at the plate, two of Enea's five put outs in the tournament were phenomenal diving catches in left field.


The Gators finished their first appearance at the Women's College World series with a 3-2 record. Florida finished the season with a 70-5 overall record, setting an NCAA record for most wins in a season. The Gators also won the second Southeastern Conference title in school history with a 27-1 record, the best record in the 12-year history of the conference. Florida also took its fist SEC Tournament title. Individually, eight players earn post-season awards from the SEC and Tim Walton was named the SEC Coach of the Year. Nelson, Enea, juniors Ali Gardiner (Waccabuc, N.Y.) and Kim Waleszonia (Fontana, Calif.) and freshman Aja Paculba (Wildomar, Calif.) earned NFCA/Louisville Slugger All-America honors. Nelson became the first player in school history to earn first-team All-America and first-team Academic All-America honors. Post-season awards keep rolling in for the Gators as Easton All-America and Team of the Year awards will be announced later today.


2008 WCWS All-Tournament Team

Francesca Enea, Florida

Charlotte Morgan, Alabama

Stacey Nelson, Florida

Holly Tankersley, La.-Lafayette

Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech

Megan Gibson, Texas A&M

Jami Lobpries, Texas A&M

Kaitlin Cochran, Arizona State

Krista Donnenwirth, Arizona State

Lesley Rogers, Arizona State

Jackie Vasquez, Arizona State

Most Outstanding Player: Katie Burkhart, Arizona State


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.