Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Men's Swimming & Diving Headline


Sunday November 18, 2007No. 6 Men's Swimming Finishes Fifth at Purdue Invitational

West Lafayette, Ind.

The sixth ranked University of Florida men’s swimming and diving team wrapped up competition at the 2007 Purdue Invitational this afternoon, coming away with 405 points for a fifth place finish.

Florida swept the top four spots in the 1,650 freestyle this afternoon, marking the first time during the course of the meet that two or more Gators finished back-to-back at the top of the leader board.  Ryan Crete (Sarasota, Fla.) finished first with a time of 15:27.82.  It was his personal best of the year and moves him to second on this season’s top-times list.  Crete was followed by Cody Kauffman (Harrisburg, Pa.) who finished with a time of 15:28.64, Joey Pedraza (Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) who took third with at time of 15:38.12 while Logan Storie (Corvallis, Ore.) rounded out the top four with a time of 15:39.11.  Eric Shrestha (Tallahassee, Fla.) was seventh in the race, swimming in with a time of 16:00.36.

Florida had six swimmers place in the top-24 of the 200-yard backstroke.  Skylar Stroman (Indian Harbour, Fla.) took seventh overall with a time of 1:50.72.  He was followed by Kyle Coan (Plantation, Fla.) who was 10th with a time of 1:520.68.  Konstantin Sundin (Stockholm, Sweden) took 12th (1:53.06), Crete was 15th (1:53.98), Michael Joyce (Vorhees, N.J.) was 17th (1:53.62) and Scott Thompson (Birmingham, Mich.) was 20th with a time of 1:54.78.

Jos Smith (
Milledgeville, Ga.) and Brett Jones (Tolland, Conn.) were the lone finalists for the Gators in the 100-yard freestyle.  Smith was 13th overall, placing fifth in the ‘B’ final with a time of 46.50 while Jones was 19th, taking third in the ‘C’ final with a time of 46.73.

Kyle Deery (
Daytona Beach, Fla.) led the way for Florida in the 200-yard breaststroke.  Dery finished sixth overall with a time of 2:05.96.  Joyce was 16th with a time of 2:13.29 and Jarrod Brinker (Kennisaw, Ga.) was 19th overall with a time of 2:14.76, placing third in the ‘C’ final.

Matt Norton (
Port Orange, Fla.) turned in his best time of the season in the 200-yard butterfly, placing 10th overall with a second place finish in the ‘B’ final and a time of 1:51.72.  He was joined by Shreshta who placed fifth in the same final with a time of 1:54.56.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.