Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Gators Headline

2007 Florida Athletics Hall of Fame members and representatives

Friday April 13, 2007Nine Members Inducted Into University of Florida Athletics Hall of Fame


2007 Florida Athletics Hall of Fame members and representatives

The F Club and Gator Boosters inducted nine members into the University of Florida Athletics Hall of Fame on Friday Night. Eight former letterwinners and the inventor of Gatorade were inducted at the Hall of Fame Banquet. This year's inductees were Liston Bochette (men's track), Dr. Robert Cade (inventor of Gatorade), David Eckstein (baseball), Aycan Gokberk (volleyball), Anita Howard (women's track), Suzanne Jackson (women's golf), Ellis Johnson (football), DeLisha Milton-Jones (women's basketball) and Lawrence Wright (football).


A committee of F Club members selects members to the Hall of Fame. They are selected in three different categories; Gator Greats, Distinguished Letterwinners or Honorary Letterwinners. Gator Greats and Distinguished Letterwinners cannot be nominated until 10 years after completion of their eligibility. Honorary Letterwinners are considered after they have contributed 10 years of employment with the University of Florida, the University Athletic Association or Gator Boosters, Inc.


Gator Greats are letterwinners or athletes who have brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves by athletic accomplishments as an undergraduate.  Criteria considered are All-American, All-SEC and exceptional leadership as witnessed by teammates and/or coaches. This year's inductees in the Gator Greats category included David Eckstein, Aycan Gokberk, Anita Howard, Ellis Johnson, DeLisha Milton-Jones and Lawrence Wright.


Distinguished Letterwinners are letterwinners or athletes who have made major contributions to the University's athletic program through personal time, effort, and interest and through many years of continued service and/or have distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor. This year's Distinguished Letterwinners were Liston Bochette and Suzanne Jackson.


Honorary Letterwinners are individuals, coaches, athletic officials, staff members and other University officials who were not letterwinners or athletes at the University of Florida, yet have rendered outstanding service to the intercollegiate athletics program through personal time, effort, interest and through many years of continued service. This year's Honorary Letterwinner inductee was Dr. Robert Cade.


Eckstein and Milton-Jones were not in attendance at the Hall of Fame Banquet due their professional athletic careers.


Brief biographical sketches of each of the inductees follow.


Liston Bochette: Men's Track 1977-79

          Set the Florida record in the decathlon with 7,565 points in 1980, a record that still stands today … competed for Puerto Rico in the 1984 Olympic Games in the decathlon … Competed on the Puerto Rican bobsled team in the 1992, 1994, 1998 and 2002 Winter Olympics … Set the Puerto Rican Decathlon record with 7,815 points in 1988 … Has served as the secretary general of the World Olympians Association since 2000 … Has received numerous awards for his art work … Named a University of Florida Outstanding Alumnus in 2004.


Dr. Robert Cade

          A nephrologists and physiologist … Inventor of Gatorade … Researched fluids lost during workouts and invented Gatorade to aid in muscle recovery and rehydration, using Gator football players in his research … Donated millions of dollars in royalties back to the University of Florida … Currently researching the affects of diet on autism and schizophrenia.


David Eckstein: Baseball 1994-97

A walk-on to the Florida baseball team who left with two All-America honors and two All-Southeastern Conference nods … Florida's first two-time Academic All-American … Finished career as Florida's all-time hits leader and ranked in the top 10 in 10 additional categories … Drafted in the 19-th round by the Boston Red Sox … Moved to the Anaheim Angels in 2000 and won the 2002 World Series with the team … Named the 2006 World Series Most Valuable Player, playing for the World Champion St. Louis Cardinals


Aycan Gokberk: Volleyball 1992-95

A two time All-American … 1993 and 1995 Southeastern Conference Player of the Year … Three-time All-SEC selection … Two-time Academic All-American … Still holds school records for kills, kills per game, points and points per game ... Named to the 1992 NCAA Championship All-Tournament team … Finished her career as the all-time leader in nearly every category.


Anita Howard: Women’s Track 1989-92

          Earned 17 All-America honors in her four-year career, the second-best overall total at UF … Three-time SEC champion, earning two titles in the 4x400m (1990 and 1991) and the indoor 55m (1990) … Claimed the 1992 NCAA 400m title … Finished her career with records in the indoor 200m and the 200m and 400m outdoors … Competed for the US team in the 1989 and 1991 World University Games … Member of 1992 Olympic U.S. team.


Suzanne Jackson: Women's Golf 1973-74

          The first woman to receive a golf scholarship to the University of Florida … Named All-State in 1974 … Earned three tournament wins in her career … Served as the Director of Tournament Operations for the LPGA … Named to the National Golf Coaches Association Player Hall of Fame in 1993 … Recognized as a rules expert, earned invitations as one of the first women to serve as a rules official at the U.S. Open, the PGA Championship and the Masters Tournament … Earned the Patty Berg Award for outstanding contributions to women's golf … Inducted into the Georgia Golf Hall of Fame in 2003 … Passed away from breast cancer on November 11, 1998 at the age of 46.


Ellis Johnson: Football 1991-94

1994 All-America defensive tackle … Named first-team All-Southeastern Conference by the coaches and AP in 1994 … Named the 1994 Defensive Player of the Year by CNN … Finished his career ranked ninth in tackles for loss and sacks … 15th overall pick to the Indianapolis Colts in the 1995 NFL Draft.


DeLisha Milton-Jones: Women's Basketball 1993-97

          Only Gator to ever win the prestigious Wade Trophy … 1997 Kodak and AP first-team All-American … First basketball player (male or female) at the University of Florida to earn first-team All-America honors … 1997 SEC Player of the Year … Three-time All-SEC honoree, as well as earning SEC All-Freshman team honors … Only the third UF women's player to top 1,000 career points … Score double figures in 100 of her 125 career games … Led the SEC in rebounds as a freshman in 1994 … Second overall pick in the 1997 ABL Draft … Fourth overall pick in the 1999 WNBA Draft … Won the 2001 and 2002 WNBA titles with the Los Angeles Sparks … Earned a gold medal with the 2000 U.S. Olympic team.


Lawrence Wright: Football 1993-96

1996 Thorpe Award winner as the nation's top defensive back … Two-time All-SEC honoree in 1995 and 1996 … Led the team with seven tackles in the Sugar Bowl to help guide the Gators to the national title … Also notable for his community service … Started the "Right Trak" program for underprivileged kids in Miami and was named to the CFA Goodworks team and was one of four Sports Illustrated for Kids "Good Sports" award winners … Entered UF as a NCAA academic partial qualifier, but went on to earn SEC Academic Honor Roll status four times and was named to the GTE Academic All-District team in 1994.



Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.