Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

1982 NCAA Championships

March 18-20, 1982
Stephen C. O'Connell Center
University of Florida
Gainesville, Fla.

In 1982, the Lady Gators claimed the inaugural NCAA Women's Swimming and Diving Championship, which teh played host to in the Stephen C. O'Connell Center Natatorium. Winning 13 events, Florida outscored second-place Stanford , 505-383.

The 1982 UF team was led by two of the school's greatest swimmers: the legendary Tracy Caulkins, a freshman, and Kathy Treible, a sophomore. Caulkins picked up five individual titles, winning the 100- and 200-yard butterfly events as well as the 100-, 200- and 400-yard individual medley events. She also swam on the winning 400-yard medley relay. Treible dominated in her specialty with victories in the 50-, 100- and 200-yard breaststroke events, as well as swimming on the winning 200- and 400-yard medley relay.

Caulkins went on to claim 12 individual NCAA and Southeastern Conference titles and rack up 21 All-America honors in her three years of collegiate swimming. Treible won six NCAA individual titles and 12 SEC crowns, while earning 28 All-America Honors during her four-year career. Calkins and Treible , along with former Gator Nicole Haislett (1991-94) are the only swimmers in SEC history to win as many titles.

Megan Neyer was also a freshmanin 1982. The 1982 Championships was the first of her four NCAA sweeps. Neyer took top honors in the one- and three-meter diving events. She repeated the feat in 1983, 1984 and 1986, becoming the only diver to sweep the championships in all four years of eligibility.

Winning the inaugural event at home put the finishing touch on a flawless season. Florida recorded a 10-0 dual meet record and won the SEC title by 325 points. Head Coach Randy Reese was named the NCAA Women's Coach of the Year as well.

Final Team Standings
1. Florida 505
2. Stanford 383
3. North Carolina 285
4. Auburn 253
5. Southern California 199
6. Arizona 179
7. Arizona State 166
8. North Carolina State 123
9. Alabama 115
10. Tennessee 100
UF Individual Champions
Amy Caulkins 100 Free
Tracy Caulkins 100 Fly
  200 Fly
  100 IM
  200 IM
  400 IM
Megan Neyer One-meter
Kathy Treible 50 Breast
  100 Breast
  200 Breast
Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.