Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Gymnastics2009 Women's Golf East Regional NCAA Championships

The NCAA Southeast Region Championships is one of the premier meets of the collegiate gymnastics season.  Only the top two teams and two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) will advance to the NCAA Gymnastics Championships.

 In addition, NCAA Regional individual event winners receive an automatic berth into the NCAA Championships (competing in the event they won), but only if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.  The NCAA Gymnastics Championships is set for April 24-26 in Athens, Ga.

Qualification for regional competition is based on a team’s, an all-around competitor’s and an individual event specialist’s six best regular-season-meet scores (also called the Regional Qualifying Score or RQS), of which three must be at an away meet.  To compute the RQS, eliminate the high score and average the remaining five scores.

The top 18 teams, nationally, based on RQS, are selected and paired into the six regions (three per region). Each region site will have one team each from the nation’s No. 1-6, No. 7-12, and No. 13-18 ranking positions. The final three spots in each regional will be filled from teams ranked 19-36 by RQS. Those teams will be kept within their own region as much as possible and shifts to the next closest region will be made according to their RQS. The all-around competitors and event specialists will come from the region.

The regional is one competition session of six rotations with four events and two byes. All-arounders will compete after the team in each event. The specialists will compete after the team on their respective events. To determine the competitive rotation of the teams, all-around competitors and event specialists, the NCAA national office will conduct a random draw. The six rotations will be as follows:

Vault—Bye before Bars—Bars—Beam—Bye before Floor—Floor

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.