Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Dan McCarney

  • Assistant Head Coach, Defense/Defensive Line

Coaching Experience

2008 - Present Florida (Assistant Head Coach, Defense/Defensive Line)
2007 USF (Assistant Head Coach/Defensive Line)
1995-2006 Iowa State (Head Coach)
1990-94 Wisconsin (Defensive Coordinator/Defensive Line)
1979-89 Iowa (Defensive Line)
1977-78 Iowa (Offensive Line)

Coaching Accomplishments

  • Continued to transform the defensive line, as they led the SEC in sacks in 2009 with 40. UF ranked second in the SEC in rushing defense, allowing just 99.8 yards per game. Their six rushing touchdowns allowed tied for the second-fewest in the nation. DE Carlos Dunlap recorded a team-leading 9.0 sacks and was named first-team All-SEC by the league's coaches and the Associated Press. DE Jermaine Cunningham had 7.0 sacks and was named second-team All-SEC by both outlets.
  • In his first season with the Gators, coached a defense that ranked first in the nation in interceptions. Five of the 26 interceptions were returned for touchdowns, a new school record. McCarney coached a defense that ranked fourth in the country in scoring defense (12.9). Under McCarney's watch, Florida's first-team defense did not allow a touchdown in five of its last eight games in 2008 and only gave up five total over the stretch (two rushing)
  • Tutored UF defensive lineman, Carlos Dunlap, who led the Gators with nine and a half sacks in 2008, which also led the SEC. The Gators had 34 sacks in 2008, after having 15 in 2007. Dunlap was named the Defensive MVP of the FedEx BCS National Championship Game.
  • Coached in his first BCS National Championship in 2008 game against Oklahoma, where the Gators held the highest-scoring offense in the history of college football to 14 points and 363 total yards.
  • Led a University of South Florida defense that ranked third nationally with 8.69 tackles for loss per game.
  • Became longest tenured head coach in the Big 12 at the completion of the 2006 season after coaching the Iowa State Cyclones from 1995-2006 .
  • Took the Cyclones to five bowl games and in the 116-year history of the ISU program he led five of the 16 teams that have won seven games or more.
  • Named the Big 12 Coach of the Year in 2004, when the Cyclones were the Big 12 North Co-Champions.
  • His 2000 squad was the first Iowa State team to win nine games in 94 years. In addition, the win over Pittsburgh in the Bowl was ISU's first-ever bowl victory and the Cyclones' first bowl appearance since 1978.
  • Remains the longest-serving (141 games) and winningest Cyclone head coach (56 victories) in school history. During his 12th season as Iowa State head coach in 2006, only eight head coaches among 119 NCAA Division I-A programs had been at their current school longer than him.
  • Responsible for the rebirth of the Iowa State defense, as the unit ranked among the Big 12 Conference's leaders in total defense in 2001, 2002, 2004 and 2005. ISU's final 2004 total defense mark of 329.4 yards allowed per game was the school's best effort in nearly two decades. The Cyclones allowed 44.8 points per game in 1997; however, by 2005 the figure had dipped to 18.5, which ranked second in the Big 12.
  • Prior to his head coaching post at Iowa State, he served as defensive coordinator and defensive line coach at Wisconsin. In the four seasons prior to his arrival, the Badgers had a combined 9-36 record. In 1993, Wisconsin went 10-1-1, claimed its first Big 10 title in 31 years and scored a 21-16 win over UCLA in the Rose Bowl. During the Rose Bowl season, the Badgers ranked 19 nationally against the run (130.3 yards per game) and allowed just 16.3 points per game. The Badger defense intercepted an NCAA-best 23 passes and created 34 turnovers, including six against UCLA in the Rose Bowl.
  • Began his coaching career at his alma mater, the University of Iowa, where he served as offensive lines coach for two years and managed the defensive line for ten seasons. During his tenure at Iowa, he coached the Hawkeyes in eight-consecutive bowl games, including the 1982 and 1986 Rose Bowls.

Prominent Players Coached

  • DE CARLOS DUNLAP - Named first-team All-SEC by the league's coaches and the Associated Press in 2009 and led the team with 9.0 sacks. He finished his career with 19.5 sacks, ranking 10th all-time in UF history. A second-team All-SEC selection in 2008, he was named the Defensive MVP of the 2009 FedEx BCS National Championship Game. Led the Gators with nine and a half sacks in 2008, which also led the SEC.
  • DE JERMAINE CUNNINGHAM - A second-team All-SEC performer in 2009 collected 19.5 sacks in his career, ranking 10th all-time in school history. He also recorded 34.0 tackles-for loss.


  • DE GEORGE SELVIE - Consensus All-American as a sophomore and finalist for the Bronko Nagurski and Ted Hendricks Awards. Led the nation in tackles for loss (31.5) and was second nationally in sacks (14.5).


  • RB TROY DAVIS - Heisman Trophy finalist in 1995 and 1996. Rushed for over 2,000 yards both seasons.
  • QB SENECA WALLACE - Big 12 Conference's Offensive Newcomer of the Year in 2001. Finished his Iowa State career in 2003 as the Cyclones' all-time leader in total offense
  • DE JOSH BERRYMAN - Named the Big 12 Conference Defensive Newcomer of the Year in 2003.



  • DB TROY VINCENT - First Team All-American selection in 1991. Was a semi-finalist for the Jim Thorpe Award given to the top defensive back in the nation and selected as the Big 10 Player of the Year in 1991. Was drafted in the first round by the Miami Dolphins in 1992. Has made five Pro Bowl appearances and was selected as the NFL's Man of the Year in 2002.


  • DL DAVE HAIGHT - Named Big 10 Defensive Lineman of the Year in 1987 and was chosen as an All-American by the Walter Camp Foundation and Football News in 1998.

NFL Players (Round Drafted)
DE George Little (3rd) - Iowa '85 - Miami Dolphins
DT Jeff Drost (8th) - Iowa '87 - Green Bay Packers
DE Don Davey (3rd) - Wisconsin '91 - Green Bay Packers
CB Troy Vincent (1st ) - Wisconsin '92 - Miami Dolphins
DT Mike Thompson (4th) - Wisconsin '95 - Jacksonville Jaguars
CB Kenny Gales (6th) - Wisconsin '95 - Chicago Bears
G  Tim Kohn (3rd) - Iowa State '97 - Oakland Raiders
RB Troy Davis (3rd) - Iowa State '97 - New Orleans Saints
T   Oliver Ross (5th) - Iowa State '98 - Dallas Cowboys
DT James Reed (7th) - Iowa State '01 - New York Jets
QB Sage Rosenfels (4th) - Iowa State '01 - Washington Redskins
DE Reggie Hayward (3rd) - Iowa State '01 - Denver Broncos
TE Mike Banks (7th) - Iowa State '02 - Arizona Cardinals
QB Seneca Wallace (4th) - Iowa State '03 - Seattle Seahawks
CB Ellis Hobbs (3rd) - Iowa State '05 - New England Patriots
LB Tim Dobbins (5th) - Iowa State '06 - San Diego Chargers
T Aaron Brant (7th) - Iowa State '07 - Chicago Bears
LB Alvin Bowen (5th) - Iowa State '08 - Buffalo Bills
DT Ahtyba Rubin (6th) - Iowa State '08 - Cleveland Browns

Playing Career
He was a three-year letterman on the offensive line for Iowa (1972-74) and was captain of the 1974 Hawkeye squad
Personal Information
Birthdate: July 28, 1953
Hometown: Iowa City, Iowa
Education: 1975 - Bachelor's Degree in Physical Education from the University of Iowa
Family: Married to Margy McCarney. Has three children: Jillian (22), Melanie (20), Shane (18).

Bowl Games as a Coach

1982: Rose
1982: Peach
1983: Gator
1984: Freedom
1986: Rose
1986: Holiday
1987: Holiday
1988: Peach
1994: Rose
2001: Independence
2002: Humanitarian
2004: Independence
2005: EV1.NET Houston
2008: Brut Sun
2009: BCS National Championship
2010: Sugar

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.