Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Scott Carter’s Blog Carter’s Corner

Thursday July 18, 2013 Media picks Alabama ... which may make Crimson Tide cringe

Updated: 3:28pm, July 18

SEC GAINESVILLE, Fla. -- The votes are in at Southeastern Conference Media Days and to no one’s surprise two-time reigning national champion Alabama was the runaway pick to win the 2013 league crown.

For background on the voting (and past voting), however, may be something of a surprise.

The Florida Gators, after going 11-2 and being one of two SEC programs to claim a BCS bid last season, were voted third-place in the East Division (behind Georgia and South Carolina) and received zero championship-winning votes.

Here’s the breakdown:

1. Alabama (182)
2. Georgia (38)
3. South Carolina (18)
4. Texas A&M (5)
5. LSU (1)

So what does it all mean?


Yes, the Crimson Tide have a great chance to Roll Tide to another championship -- both in Atlanta and beyond -- but if Bama does manage to raise another banner in the Georgia Dome it'll be just the fifth champ since the SEC expanded and adopted the title-game format in 1992 to be accurately picked by the press at the conference annual Media Days.

Yes, the media (and I took part in voting for eight of those polls in the 1990s) has batted just 4-for-21 -- that’s .190 -- when it comes to picking the champion the last 21 years.

Or as Alabama coach Nick Saban put it Thursday, “If I was 4-17, I’d be back in West Virginia pumping gas at my daddy’s station.”


Anyway, check it out:

YEAR      PICK                HOW FARED                   EVENTUAL CHAMP
1992        Florida              Lost in SEC title game     Alabama
1993        Alabama           Lost in SEC title game     Florida
1994        Florida              SEC champion                 Florida
1995        Florida              SEC champion                 Florida
1996        Tennessee        2nd in East                       Florida
1997        Florida              T-2nd in East                    Tennessee
1998        Florida              2nd in East                       Tennessee
1999        Tennessee        2nd in East                       Alabama
2000        Alabama           T-5th in West                    Florida
2001        Florida              2nd in East                       LSU   
2002        Tennessee        3rd in East                       Georgia
2003        Auburn             3rd in West                       LSU
2004        Georgia            2nd in East                       Auburn
2005        Tennessee       5th in East                        Georgia
2006        Auburn             T-2nd in West                   Florida
2007        LSU                  SEC Champion                LSU
2008        Florida             SEC Champion                Florida
2009        Florida             Lost in SEC title game     Alabama
2010        Alabama          4th in West                       Auburn   
2011        Alabama          2nd in West                      LSU
2012        LSU                 T-2nd in West                   Alabama
2013        Alabama          ?????                               ?????

Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.