Gator Sportshop
Gator Ticket Office

Women's Basketball2008 Women's NIT Basketball Tournament

WNIT Third Round - Florida at N.C. State
Thursday, March 27, 7:00pm

Tournament Headlines





The 2008 WNIT

The 48-team field of the Postseason Women’s National Invitation Tournament was announced the evening of March 17th.

The WNIT kicks off postseason action Wednesday, with first-round games. All games are held on the campuses of participating schools.  While 32 teams will play in the first round, 16 teams received a bye and will begin their tournament with a second-round game.  The Postseason WNIT features 16 first-round games, followed by 16 second-round games, eight third-round games, four quarterfinal games, two semifinal games and the championship.  The WNIT championship begins at 4 p.m. ET Saturday, April 5, and will be hosted by one of the two final participating schools.

The WNIT awards an automatic berth to each of the nation’s 31 conferences. The spot goes to the team that finishes the highest in the regular-season conference standings that does not advance to the NCAA Tournament. If there is a tie, the WNIT abides by the conference tiebreaker. To be considered for WNIT selection, a team must have an overall record of .500 or better.

The remaining spots are filled by teams selected at-large.

This year’s field features five teams from the Big 10, four teams from the Big East and four teams from SEC. Other conferences that got more than one team in the field were the Big 12 and Missouri Valley (three each), and the Sun Belt, Atlantic 10, ACC, and Colonial (two

Game times will be announced Tuesday, March 18, by the WNIT. For more information, visit the Web site at

Here are the 48 teams in the tournament:
Automatic Berths
American (Patriot)
Arkansas-Little Rock (Sun Belt)
Boise State (WAC)
Boston College (ACC)
Bowling Green (Mid-American)
Charlotte (Atlantic 10)
Colorado (Big 12)
Dartmouth (Ivy)
Evansville (Missouri Valley)
Florida Gulf Coast (Atlantic Sun)
Gonzaga (West Coast)
Idaho State (Big Sky)
Iona (Metro Atlantic)
James Madison (Colonial)
Kentucky (SEC)
Marquette (Big East)
Michigan State (Big Ten)
North Carolina A&T (MEAC)
Quinnipiac (Northeast)
Prairie View A&M (SWAC
Radford (Big South)
South Dakota State (Summit)
Southeast Missouri (Ohio Valley)
Southern Miss (C-USA)
TCU (Mountain West)
Texas State (Southland)
UC Davis (Big West)
Vermont (America East)
Western Carolina (Southern)
Wisconsin-Green Bay (Horizon)
  At-large Berths
Mississippi State
NC State
South Carolina
South Florida
St. John’s
Texas Tech
Virginia Comm.


Florida Athletics - A Championship Experience with Integrity - Vision Statement
  • University of Florida
  • NCAA
  • FOX Sports Sun / FOX Sports Florida
  • IMG
  • SEC Network

© 1998 - 2015 University Athletic Assoc., Inc., FOX Sports Sun & IMG College. All Rights Reserved.